Karen A's Chocolate Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Well - I didn't have the right flavors of cake mix/pudding/chips - but guess what?? - I used "Cherry Chip" cake mix, Hershey's Rasberry chips, and Vanilla pudding mix (non-instant)...and it came out GRRRRRRREAT!!!! Very rich and dense (almost like a bread pudding texture) - great hot with vanilla ice cream! (p.s. - I used Whole Milk!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
My family is snobby about chocolate cakes, and we think it needs to take hours to come up with anything good - so I'm not telling them about this recipe! it's such a heavy dose of chocolate - moist and rich, just what I want in a chocolate cake. The chocolate chips on top are perfect for copping out of frosting it, but if you want to avoid chocolate overkill I think a non-chocolate icing would go nicely... Raspberry would really go well with this... Or you could maybe get, say, peanut butter chips instead? But if you're in a pinch and need a dessert fast, have at this one! The people you feed will tell you you're evil for tempting them with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Such an easy "cake mix" recipe! This is great if you want to make an ordinary cake mix extraordinary. I loved the dense, fudgy texture. I make it in 2 9" cake pans and cooked for 20 minutes--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I have made this recipe for years. Got it from my mother, who got it from her sister, who got it from her mother-in-law. It's definitely been passed around. I have found that the finished quality is directly related to the kind of cake mix used. If I use the cheapest cake mix I can find ... it tastes that way. However, if I use a good quality cake mix such as Duncan Hines Devil's Food cake mix ... it is oh so yummy. Also, it cannot be a mix with pudding already in the mix. Those who have been unhappy with this cake, try it again with a good quality cake mix (if you didn't already) and see if you like it better. I give this recipe 4 stars, only because it can be messed up. A truly 5 star recipe is one that turns out great so matter what the cook does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Good staple cake to have in your pantry -- also the leftovers froze wonderfully, holding its moist texture. I used instant jello without any issues and added ~2 Tbs vanilla extract as well as ~4 Tbs Bailey's liquor to address other's comments of blandness. I would add even a bit more of each next time. I also mixed the chocolate chips into the batter, reserving a just a handful for the top. No need to frost, just serve warm with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I REALLY WASNT SURE ABOUT THIS ONE BECAUSE OF HOW EASY IT WAS,BUT LET ME TELL YOU IT WAS GREAT.I WAS OUT OF THE CHOCOLATE CHIPS BUT I DIDNT MISS THEM.THE CAKE WAS EXTREMELY MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
This cake is so good and very easy. All I had was instant pudding and it still worked. Would probably taste better with non-instant, but my kids and husband ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
My famiy would have enjoyed this a lot more had it not been for all those chocolate chips, and I added only 1 cup, not the 2. The cake itself was very good after scraping off the choc chips. I'll make it again but without the choc chips. Great with ice-cream and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was soooooooooo rich! Satisfies ANY chocolate emergency or craving!!! Eater BEWARE!......eat only a small portion or you will be in a state of chocolate shock! Best when eaten with a glob of french vanilla ice cream. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
This was a GREAT cake. so moist and so rich. I almost made two because i was feeding a large group but trust me the smaller pieces of this cake are more than enough. its very rich. Be sure to have a glass of milk ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States