Karen A's Chocolate Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Well - I didn't have the right flavors of cake mix/pudding/chips - but guess what?? - I used "Cherry Chip" cake mix, Hershey's Rasberry chips, and Vanilla pudding mix (non-instant)...and it came out GRRRRRRREAT!!!! Very rich and dense (almost like a bread pudding texture) - great hot with vanilla ice cream! (p.s. - I used Whole Milk!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
My family is snobby about chocolate cakes, and we think it needs to take hours to come up with anything good - so I'm not telling them about this recipe! it's such a heavy dose of chocolate - moist and rich, just what I want in a chocolate cake. The chocolate chips on top are perfect for copping out of frosting it, but if you want to avoid chocolate overkill I think a non-chocolate icing would go nicely... Raspberry would really go well with this... Or you could maybe get, say, peanut butter chips instead? But if you're in a pinch and need a dessert fast, have at this one! The people you feed will tell you you're evil for tempting them with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
Such an easy "cake mix" recipe! This is great if you want to make an ordinary cake mix extraordinary. I loved the dense, fudgy texture. I make it in 2 9" cake pans and cooked for 20 minutes--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I have made this recipe for years. Got it from my mother, who got it from her sister, who got it from her mother-in-law. It's definitely been passed around. I have found that the finished quality is directly related to the kind of cake mix used. If I use the cheapest cake mix I can find ... it tastes that way. However, if I use a good quality cake mix such as Duncan Hines Devil's Food cake mix ... it is oh so yummy. Also, it cannot be a mix with pudding already in the mix. Those who have been unhappy with this cake, try it again with a good quality cake mix (if you didn't already) and see if you like it better. I give this recipe 4 stars, only because it can be messed up. A truly 5 star recipe is one that turns out great so matter what the cook does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Good staple cake to have in your pantry -- also the leftovers froze wonderfully, holding its moist texture. I used instant jello without any issues and added ~2 Tbs vanilla extract as well as ~4 Tbs Bailey's liquor to address other's comments of blandness. I would add even a bit more of each next time. I also mixed the chocolate chips into the batter, reserving a just a handful for the top. No need to frost, just serve warm with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I REALLY WASNT SURE ABOUT THIS ONE BECAUSE OF HOW EASY IT WAS,BUT LET ME TELL YOU IT WAS GREAT.I WAS OUT OF THE CHOCOLATE CHIPS BUT I DIDNT MISS THEM.THE CAKE WAS EXTREMELY MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
This cake is so good and very easy. All I had was instant pudding and it still worked. Would probably taste better with non-instant, but my kids and husband ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
My famiy would have enjoyed this a lot more had it not been for all those chocolate chips, and I added only 1 cup, not the 2. The cake itself was very good after scraping off the choc chips. I'll make it again but without the choc chips. Great with ice-cream and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was soooooooooo rich! Satisfies ANY chocolate emergency or craving!!! Eater BEWARE!......eat only a small portion or you will be in a state of chocolate shock! Best when eaten with a glob of french vanilla ice cream. YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
This was a GREAT cake. so moist and so rich. I almost made two because i was feeding a large group but trust me the smaller pieces of this cake are more than enough. its very rich. Be sure to have a glass of milk ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States