Karen A's Chocolate Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I served this up on a whim at Super Bowl. Needed something sweet to serve and found this recipe. It was a huge hit served warm from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Very rich, but all family and friends love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reinholds, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
YUM! My husband called and sounded like he'd had a rough day so I was looking for something to whip up in a hurry to cheer him up. It worked!! I used Duncan Hines Devils Food Mix as suggested by another reviewer. I also used Nestles Mini Morsels, which I think might have worked better than regular sized chips. Alos, I thought this would be better served warm, but as it turns out, it is best after it is refrigerated and the chocolate hardens on top. WOW. It is a really dense moist cake, almost like a brownie, but better. And very easy! The only thing I gave it 4 stars for is because it is boring LOOKING. I only give 5 stars to recipes that taste and present well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I am someone who absolutely loves chocolate, but I was not impressed with this one. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sullivan, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This cake is easy and delicious. I took it to work and it was devoured! The batter is very thick and next time I will make sure to smooth it down in the cake pan. I thought it would flatten out by itself but it didn't. I will definately make this again and I am going to experiment with different cakes and puddings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Olson Frasnelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This cake should be re named to "HO HO or Ding Dong cake"! Eat it after it's cooled and you would think you were eating a hostess treat. Next time I make it I will add some kind of marshmallow mixture to the cake after cooled. I love the idea of using different mixes. It's a great cake for us (even if it's a little costly) because of my daughters egg allergy. She was so excited to eat cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I have enjoyed this cake since I was a kid (we call it crazy cake), and now it is ALWAYS requested by friends and family. Simply the easiest, best tasting take anywhere dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Bridge

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
My famiy would have enjoyed this a lot more had it not been for all those chocolate chips, and I added only 1 cup, not the 2. The cake itself was very good after scraping off the choc chips. I'll make it again but without the choc chips. Great with ice-cream and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was ok at best. I completely agree with the review that it was bland, and needed an icing instead of just chocolate chips on top. I 100% agree that with the expense of the mix, pudding, and chocolate chips, it wasn't worth it. I'll never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I didn't have chocolate pudding or chocolate cake mix, so I used a white cake with lemon pudding and then put a lemon glaze over the top. It was AWESOME!!!!!!! We loved it and can't wait to try the real recipe with the chocolate. Definitely needs vanilla ice cream to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States