Karen A's Chocolate Dump Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Karen A certainly knows cakes. Took this to a pot luck and they gobbled it up. Now I am making one to take in to work. Both have been chocolate. Yummy! This is a very good cake and easy to make. The only things I changed was to add some chocolate chips to the cake/pudding mix (to give it an all around more chocolaty taste) and to bake it for about 30 minutes (my oven is a little strange). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
very good cake, chocolatey and very quick to throw together. it stays moist and nice after days! I put big chunks of chocolate on top and they didn't melt thoroughly: my kids fought about whose slice had the big piece of choc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Good staple cake to have in your pantry -- also the leftovers froze wonderfully, holding its moist texture. I used instant jello without any issues and added ~2 Tbs vanilla extract as well as ~4 Tbs Bailey's liquor to address other's comments of blandness. I would add even a bit more of each next time. I also mixed the chocolate chips into the batter, reserving a just a handful for the top. No need to frost, just serve warm with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I did something wrong... it didn't bake properly (way too wet!) and the chocolate chips burned. guess I'll try again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This was delicious! I didn't have non-instant pudding either, so I used the large package of Jell-O Mint Chocolate Chip instant pudding mix, and only used one cup of chocolate chips and it turned out great!! I ate it warm with a little Cool Whip on top. Heavenly! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Texture was really unappealing (kind of lumpy and doughy seeming) and there wasn't a lot of taste to it considering all the chocolate that went into it. Two of my kids refused to eat it at all after two bites, and my hubby politely ate one piece. We won't be making it again which is unfortunate because it was so quick and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2LITTLEPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
OMG....I have made this twice now and it disappears in now time. The only change I make is that I mix the chips in with the cake mix. A whole package of Nestle Morsels. The 1st time I made it, snow day snowing 1 inch a inute, no vanilla ice cream , had to hoof it down to 7-11 to get ice cream.. WHAT A WINNER! Have givne it out to 3 people so far nothing but raves!!!!! THANKS FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721
Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
really great recipe and so versatile! not a chocolate lover? try this with yellow cake mix, lemon or vanilla pudding mix and chopped canned fruit over the top. also- i used sugar free pudding mix and replaced half the milk with water to make it more figure friendly and it turned out great! if your cake mix come with pudding in the mix (like the betty crocker kind) don't worry- it makes the end result even more like one big brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I'VE EVER HAD! I have no idea what the original poster is talking about with non-instant chocolate pudding so I just used instant. I made it for a bake sale and ti was gone within 10 minutes and they kept asking if I had more. Definitely going to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
OMG- This is the best and sooo easy. My son found this recipe and asked to make it- I'm so glad I did. We used Devil's Food cake mix and it turned out great. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States