Kapusta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made a few changes the second time I made this. I left out the mushrooms.I cooked the cabbage and the sauerkraut together with caraway seed. I then drained the cabbage after it cooked for a few hours. In a frying pan I put chopped onion, crisco and flour and browned it. I then added it to the cabbage and salt and pepper to taste. I then rewarmed it in a frying pan browning it a bit and it a a huge hit.. we liked it so much more than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Perfect... I can't duplicate my old country Polish mom's recipe; however, this is a good recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is delicious! I actually opened a can of saurkraut by mistake so looked on allrecipes to see if there was a meatless casserole i could make to use it up. I happened to have portabellas on hand and some bacon fat so used that too instead of butter. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
hi, i am half Polish. My father always made kapusta. He burned flour in a pan untill light brown and then added water and the sourkraut and stirred until thickened, Then he added pork that had been fried. The next day we always ate the kapusta leftovers with white beans. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
It almost tasted like the kapusta I've been making for years. The things I did different were: no portabello mushrooms, regular mushrooms only; add Polish kielbasa or sausage; add 1 lb. bacon; no butter and don't add sugar...this recipe doesn't need it. Use the bacon grease to saute onions and this gives the dish fantastic flavor. I also use a slow cooker and sprinkle coarse black pepper generously. I start cooking early in the morning on medium heat and let cook for 4 to 6 hours when I shut it off. Any leftovers freezes great! If you are watching your cholesterol levels beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
My husband loves this! I made it with half butter/ half olive oil as someone else suggested. Other than that, I made it exactly as written. It was fun to cook something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This recipe is great as written. I do, however, change it up a bit to make it a little heartier. I place 2 pounds of country-style pork ribs on top of the mixture, cover the ribs with 8 oz. of beer, cover and cook it in a slow cooker for 8 to 10 hours. When the meat is very tender, I remove it from the crock, cool slightly, and shred it. I then add the shredded meat back into the cabbage mixture and continue to cook on low for about 20-30 min., until heated through. I usually serve this with either egg noodles or kluski (potato dumplings with onions and salt port) and rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I've been eating Kapusta for 60 years.....this is by far the best recipe I've had. The family loves it! The portobello mushrooms are a must. We do part butter and part olive oil for health reasons. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
There are many different versions of a great dish. Most on line are very bland or simple compared to mine. I have even changed mine a bit from what I started eating in diapers 47 years ago. I like mine with a pork meat for flavor, salt pork to make a gravy to thicken it up, potatos', kielbasa, mushrooms, not for the faint of heart about fat or sodium. I only make it once or twice a year, so I get over it quickly. for someone who has never owned a salt shaker for my table, I'm okay with holiday scarfing. but....if you got a family, and need to modernly make it quick and simple, I say go for this one. Just take a little more time on your cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gavin
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Taste better the next day. Definitely used half the recipe. Also used sauteed kielbasa and hot sauce. great as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States