Kapusta II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Very delish! I used bacon ,added thinly sliced onion,I had to add a couple splashes of white wine to cook the cabbage down in (I drained off a little of the bacon fat) and served with Weiner Schnitzel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Great! It's even faster if you buy a pre-shredded bag of cabbage. One thing to note - if you use purple cabbage and have leftovers, the purple cabbage 'bleeds' on the noodles, and the next day, the dish doesn't look so appetizing. I had a Ukranian version of this recipe: saute the cabbage in a little butter until tender, then add the noodles, salt, pepper, and 1/2 tsp. sugar. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
This is a good and economical recipe. Instead of salt pork,I use butter and olive oil. Chopped 2 onions, Keilbasa or pork steak cut in strips. Cook those before adding the cabbage. Add frozen peas once the cabbage cooks down, season with plenty of salt and pepper. Toss in the egg noodles and you have supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is similar to my family recipe. We don't ever use salt pork (olive oil to coat this til it glows) We also saute onion with the cabbage and cook them until the onion is transparent. Add the noodles and voila - a new batch is ready. My Ukrainian husband also added this to his recipe repetorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Very good!!! I did substitute 6 slices of bacon for the salt pork but followed the rest of the recipe as is. Hubby was surprised as he thought it wouldn't be very good but he enjoyed it as much as I did! Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I used the review from lilquiz because I had pork and cabbage to use up. It needed lots of S&P. Could use something else to give it more flavor; like sausage or ham or some sort of spice. I'll have to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmberJo
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
A very enjoyable traditional recipe. Everyone went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Pretty good recipe, the salt pork really tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This sounds simple and fast. The Kapusta I make, handed down, takes about 3-4 hours minumum, has more ingredients, and no kluski. Of course, you can't be shy about the fat or sodium, sorry. I do know most people who never ate it because they hear "sour", love it. Used to use pork neck back in the day, but bone chips turned me to smoked pork shoulder, of course I still use salt pork fried up, for a base for the gravy to thicken it up. My starch is the potatos. I'll try to dig up a photo for the curious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I believe that the use of egg noodles in the Kapusta would actually make it Haluski. Doesn't matter much with or without the noodles both are really good comfort food. I too substitute thick cut bacon lardons for the salt pork. It just gives it a nice smokier flavor. Additionally I will usually include thin sliced onion. Depending on my mood I'll also use split peas. Put them right in dry. It just give a little different texture to it and slightly different taste. It's all good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States