Kansas City Style Pork Back Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This recipe is really good! The only thing I didn't have was celery salt, I just omitted it, and still thought the rub was excellent. I didn't grill them though, I cooked them in the oven wrapped in foil at 300 degrees for 2 hours. They were absolutely delicious. Step 2 doesn't have to come before step 3. I just did up the BBQ Sauce (Trader Joe's BBQ worked really well) and honey right before I put it on. I think you could probably sub brown sugar for white sugar, I bet that would be good. I don't think the rub needs quite as much sugar as called for. My kids ate up these ribs. Definitely 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Da bomb!!!! Perfect pork loin ribs. Removed membrane from the bone side. Applied a mustard slather on both sides of rack as a bonding agent for the rub. Smoked for 4-3/4 hrs. on Big Green Egg at 225°-240°, turning once (use the BGE plate setter for indirect heat). Used apple & oak whiskey barrel wood chips. Mopped barbeque glaze (used Big Al's K.C. Bar-B-Q Sauce from this site) on ribs, and cooked another 20 minutes. The low-and-slow cook infused a wonderful smoky flavor, and the combination of an outstanding rub and a great BBQ sauce took these ribs to another level. The ribs were very moist and tender. Paul Kirk, your recipe is the work of a champion pitmaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Better than you get at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
OMG - Best ribs ever! Two hours in the smoker with that fabulous rub and then switched to the grill for the BBQ sauce/honey step. I used Cattleman's Carolina Gold Tangy BBQ Sauce - they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolina233

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
These ribs were amazing!!! Full of flavor and easy to make as well! And my mom loves the seasoning rub. We have tried it on beef roasts, chicken, and turkey and it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
These were spectacular! Had to use oven, then broiled the sauce for 2-min per side. Truly, a great recipe. Don't miss these ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
OH MY GOD! I’ve used many recipes from this site and others but this is the only one that has compelled me to comment on. I poured all of the dry ingredients as written in an old mayonnaise jar and shook them until everything blended together. I coated my spare ribs thoroughly Sunday morning, covered them in a baking dish with aluminum foil and let them sit overnight. Monday, I took them out of the fridge and let them sit on the counter until the over pre-heated to 325 degrees (to cold outside to use grill). I then placed them into the oven for 1 hr. bone side up. I turned them over (meat side up), re-covered them and placed them back in for 1 hr. I then prepared the BBQ sauce and let sit until the ribs finished cooking. I then removed the foil, coated the ribs with the BBQ sauce (used ¾ of sauce) and placed them back into the oven uncovered for ½ hr. After 20 mins. I re-coated ribs with the remaining ¼ BBQ sauce. WOW!!! My wife, who rarely eats red meat, complimented these ribs. She took leftovers for lunch the next day. Her co-workers asked about her lunch due to the smell these ribs left behind. Will use this rub from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orlando

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Amazing ribs! Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I have made this countless times for friends and famiy - a sure thing, especially as I am a little nervous cooking for company - they even stacked up against my husband's side of the family! I like to add the rub early and let it sink in. Other than that, follow and the recipe and it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Perfect Rib Recipe! Have used this recipe over and over and it turns out great every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States