Kansas City Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I've been making a version of this same steak soup for years and I'd like to add a few things to turn it from just okay, into marvelous. Instead of using water, replace it with 4 (10 oz) cans of beef consomme. Use at least 1/2 cup of chopped carrots, onions and celery. Add 2 tsp of Kitchen Bouquet. Add 1 tsp of flavor enhancer. And use at least 2 lbs of good quality minced beef (not ground). Try is with these additions and you'll love it. I make the roux in a saucepan, add the consomme, then put the rest of the ingredients in a slow cooker. Let it cook all day on low and you'll come home to a marvelous meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Bend, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Also known as Plaza III Soup from the K.C. restuarant of the same name. Because this recipe orginated approx. 35 years ago I think it needs updating. Beef stock is a much better product than the beef cubes. I used reduced sodium beef broth in cartons combined with vegetable broth cartons to equal 1/2 gallon. The cartons have a better flavor than canned broth -used Swanson's. In addition to the 1 lb. of round steak I added 1 sirloin steak minced cooking it the same way as the ground round. Drain the meat after cooking but reserve the drippings. If soup needs thickening toward the end of cooking, make a roux with the drippings to stir in to the soup--added flavor & no waste. Smart Balance is good but I still prefer using unsalted butter though I reduced it to 1 1/2 sticks. If you must add diced potatoes, do so but know that it does alter the orginal recipe and makes it a stew instead of a steak soup; I think it tastes fine with out them but I grew up on this soup and it seems odd to add them. I am not a fan of stewed tomatoes so I subbed 1 can diced tomatoes without any seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was really delicious soup. I used more carrots and celery than called for and added potato. I just didn't see how 1 carrot and 1 stalk of celery could be divided by 16 servings of soup. Next time I will cut the ground pepper down because it was a little too hot for my 3 year old. One soup trick I learned when working at a soup kitchen is to boil the carrot peels, celery tops and onion skins in the water to make a stock. After it has simmered for several minutes, strain out the peels and use the liquid in place of the water. It really adds a nice flavor and richness to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Exquisite.. very, very similar to steak soup I've had in KC.. almost exact. I did add thyme, red wine, a little garlic powder, extra pepper, and kosher salt, all to the soup prior to simmering. I also used unsalted butter. I liked how this turned out, but I think I'll play around with the vegetables in the future, as I didn't love the combination. I think I'll put in fresh carrots, celery, onions, peas, lima beans, and green beans in next time instead of frozen. Anyway, loved it and will definitely make many more times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Excellent! I cut up the carrots and onions and roast them in olive oil til tender in the oven prior to adding. I also flour my meat prior to browning. Once I add the meat to the soup, I use the tomatoes to deglaze the pan I sauteed the meat in. I also add fordhook lima beans for taste as opposed to frozen veggies. This soup is SO GOOD this way. Yes, it's a little labor intensive, but it's so worth the final product. Also....please note that I make sure my "roux" is browned well before adding the beef stock. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I made this soup with some leftover prime rib and simmered it with some red wine. That soup was nearly gone before I got any! My picky eaters wouldn't go for the mixed veggies, but they loved this with potatoes, carrots, celery, and onions. So, we adjusted the recipe to our own tastes, and it came out FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This was *so* good! For those who don't know, the roux needs to be cooked on medium high heat, till it's the color of an old penny. My oldest son who complains about any and all veggies, said, "Even with the vegetables this was still good." One of the best soups I've ever eaten or made...and pretty low in calories as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Positively the best soup I have ever had! The flavor is unbeatable and everyone who tries it loves it. Best of all it's a completely economical meal for our family of 6. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Yum, my hubby LOVES hearty soups, and this fit right in! He ate it atop of egg noodles & the kids & I ate it with biscuits. Nice & comforting for a fridgid evening! Great way to use up extra steak! Thanks so much Sharyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I did not add the 12 boullion cubes ( I actually had bouillion granules) at first, because it sounded like a lot. But, did add it in, at the end, because it did need it. I liked the broth,there was actually a hint of "creaminess" from all that flour and margarine (I used "Smart Balance") but after tasting... I preferred to add diced potatoes, Thyme, red wine, parsley and garlic powder. Will keep this recipe to make again, with those few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kansas City BBQ Ribs

Pork ribs seasoned with a spice rub and bbq sauce cooked right on the grill.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States