Kansas City Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
We love this soup. I added 2 pounds of round steak (my husband is a meat eater) and didn't have the carrot or celery on hand, but the frozen veggies made up for it. Next time I'll try adding potatoes to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This was really delicious soup. I used more carrots and celery than called for and added potato. I just didn't see how 1 carrot and 1 stalk of celery could be divided by 16 servings of soup. Next time I will cut the ground pepper down because it was a little too hot for my 3 year old. One soup trick I learned when working at a soup kitchen is to boil the carrot peels, celery tops and onion skins in the water to make a stock. After it has simmered for several minutes, strain out the peels and use the liquid in place of the water. It really adds a nice flavor and richness to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Positively the best soup I have ever had! The flavor is unbeatable and everyone who tries it loves it. Best of all it's a completely economical meal for our family of 6. A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRABLUE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Excellent! I cut up the carrots and onions and roast them in olive oil til tender in the oven prior to adding. I also flour my meat prior to browning. Once I add the meat to the soup, I use the tomatoes to deglaze the pan I sauteed the meat in. I also add fordhook lima beans for taste as opposed to frozen veggies. This soup is SO GOOD this way. Yes, it's a little labor intensive, but it's so worth the final product. Also....please note that I make sure my "roux" is browned well before adding the beef stock. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Great soup and complete meal! All you need with it is some garlic bread. Did use the cans of beef bouillon in place of most of the water as another reader suggested, and only a couple of the beef bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This was great! I took the suggestions of others and added corn vice bagged/rozen veggies. The flavor was great, and everyone loved it. I passed on the Allrecipes website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLFAIRBANKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
The BEST soup! This is excellent! I used steak we had grilled a few nights ago. I left out the mixed veggies, my picky little son wouldn't have ate those. I used a potato, carrot, celery, and onion. I made the roux in a skillet, added some beef broth, and put it all in a crock pot (previous reviewer's suggestion) and it was great! I didn't know what the roux would do in the crock pot with no stirring, but it was very smooth. Good thick gravy! You should try it! My coworkers were all wondering "what smells so good" when I took it for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I tripled this recipe and canned the soup, using ribeye steak as the beef. When I open a jar, I find that I consume the "gravy broth" first because of the excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
Yum, my hubby LOVES hearty soups, and this fit right in! He ate it atop of egg noodles & the kids & I ate it with biscuits. Nice & comforting for a fridgid evening! Great way to use up extra steak! Thanks so much Sharyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This soup is delicious! I added a couple cups of cooked elbow macaroni and it was great! This was the entree for a birthday dinner and everyone raved about it. VERY good and very impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kansas City BBQ Ribs

Pork ribs seasoned with a spice rub and bbq sauce cooked right on the grill.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States