Kansas City Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Thought it was pretty good but not quite deserving of the 5 star wow factor. The consistency of this when I made it was kind of like thick gravy. It could have been my roux- I may have overcooked it, not sure- but it was really quite good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Excellent!! I added minced garlic when i browned my steak and thyme as suggested by others. We loved it, oh we ate it over croutons and with garlic bread. Will absolutely make it again! Thanx!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I had high hopes for this soup based on all the good reviews...but it was just average. It was much thicker than I wanted...more like a stew. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
This was *so* good! For those who don't know, the roux needs to be cooked on medium high heat, till it's the color of an old penny. My oldest son who complains about any and all veggies, said, "Even with the vegetables this was still good." One of the best soups I've ever eaten or made...and pretty low in calories as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was great! I halved the recipe and it was still great! My husband said, this is the best soup I have ever have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This soup is excellent. It is so tasty and easy to make. My husband loved it. I made it when steak was on sale and it was very economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This soup is the bomb!!! I made it for my boss & he LOVED IT !!! My friends ate 3 gallons of it in 2 days... Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This soup was delicious. We had left over steak from a party and used it in this soup. Instead of using frozen vegetables though, I added more fresh carrots and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Exquisite.. very, very similar to steak soup I've had in KC.. almost exact. I did add thyme, red wine, a little garlic powder, extra pepper, and kosher salt, all to the soup prior to simmering. I also used unsalted butter. I liked how this turned out, but I think I'll play around with the vegetables in the future, as I didn't love the combination. I think I'll put in fresh carrots, celery, onions, peas, lima beans, and green beans in next time instead of frozen. Anyway, loved it and will definitely make many more times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States