Kansas City Steak Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I thought this soup was okay. It tasted better than other vegetable beef soups I have tried, but nothing exceptional for being a well known soup. I cut the recipe in half when I realized it made over a gallon of soup with the recipe as is! I used lite margarine because I thought even 1/2 cup seemed like a lot. The vegetables and broth were good, but I didn't think the meat had any flavor even after simmering in the soup. I used beef base instead of the bouillion because it has less sodium and tastes more like real beef broth. It was good tonight with some rolls. But, with the amount of margarine and overall taste it is not one I would take the time to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was a delicious, easy to make soup. My entire family loved it...my husband went back for thirds! Will definitely be adding this to my 'keeper' file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious! Added more carrots and celery than it called for, dredged the beef in flour and deglazed the pot with some dry red wine. Delicious! Will definitely use this one again and again. Fabulous way to use round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Everyone loved it. I didn't add enough water cause it seemed like a stew but overall really good. I used left over steak we had the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLANEYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I don't usually leave reviews but I just couldn't remain quiet on this one. This was a big hit in our house. I followed the recipe exactly except I added potatoes and fresh mushrooms. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written. My husband said it tasted just like his dad's, who is a chef here in KC. I can't wait to have leftovers this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Had high hopes, but was nothing special. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Loved it! Nice thick broth and great taste and even picky family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuralWanderer

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Used potatoes instead of bag of vegetables. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is a great man-pleaser, hearty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countryboy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States