Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I've made this a dozen times - always in my 5 quart crock pot. I use a 5-6 pound boneless shoulder. I drizzle liquid smoke all over the roast until it's coated - and then cover the roast with sea salt - I never measure. I put little if any water on the roast and cook it on low for about 10 hours. I always remove the roast from the crockpot - remove and discard the fat (before my husband can see it) and shred the meat (usually it's already falling apart.) I add a little of the liquid (put it through a strainer) to the pork for flavor/moistness. I always serve with bbq sauce (sometimes I make my own - sometime I don't.) Depending on who I'm serving it to (home or work) I add 2 bottles of bbq sauce to the meat - or leave the meat plain and let them top the meat with sauce. Makes amazing sandwiches - I take this to work often on football Saturdays for the whole department (at least my watch.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNDMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Traditionally, you'd want to bake it at a much lower temperature, often not much higher than 300 because you want the pork to steam NOT bake. i'd improve this recipe by halfing the salt, increase the pork to 5lb, and bake covered in foil at 300 for 8 hours. takes a long time, but the Hawaiians used to steam it for an entire 24 hours. PS i like in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
This is a GREAT recipe....very easy without many ingredients...however, I found that 1/4 cup of salt was waaayyy too much.....my 'butt' roast was just under 3lbs so I compensated and used a little less than 1/4 cup....but it was still too much....I usually don't add a lot of salt to my recipes anyway, but I'll definitely make this recipe again, with much less salt...the texture was terrific! I think I'd also add a bit more of the Liquid Smoke....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I make this often. I've also prepared it in my slow cooker. I start it out on low the night before. It is a wonderful recipe! Great with potato/mac salad and Hawaiian sweet bread! So ono.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My family loved this roast! Very good! The only negative I can say is that the liquid smoke didn't come through at all. Other than that, the flavor was great, and the meat very moist and tender, even the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I've made this numerous times and can't get enough of it! I've used oven bags for roasting it in the oven, but making it in my crockpot is much better which helps it even more from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Delightfully easy! I used a nearly 6 lb shoulder, and it easily fell apart after just 14 hours of cooking. I forgot to poke the pork before I poured on the liquid smoke, but it still came through nicely. I served it as open-faced sandwiches over French brioche with the Mustard Based BBQ sauce from this site. Oh, so yummy! Versatile recipe that I will definitely make again. Oops...I cannot figure out how to delete this, but this review should be on the Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I've made this twice now and both times ended up with it being too salty. Be sure to use Hawaiian sea salt and not regular sea salt. The second time I didn't have enough Hawaiian sea salt so used regular sea salt to make up the difference, another mistake. I added more liquid smoke the second time and it was better that way. I cooked it all day in the crockpot so it is a very simple dish. Even with my salty mistakes, still very tasty and I'll continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Great recipe. I also cooked the roast at a lower temp.(325) for 6 hours. I also added some fresh ground black pepper and cut down on the salt. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This turned out good. Juicy and with a slight smoky flavor. The salt turned into a little crust that I tapped off and discarded before shredding, so it didnt turn out to be overly salty. The leftovers made great barbecue pork sandwiches the next day. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States