Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
We made this in the crock pot the night before. We were generous with the smoke and salt but it wasn't a 1/4 cup. We made sandwiches with bbq sauce and coleslaw - like Rumbi Island Grill. It was a great hit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Totally delicious and so easy! I was a little shy on rubbing in the salt and smoke- won't be next time. Fantastic mildly smoky pork for just about anything you want to use it for. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe is SOOO EASY and delicious! I just start it in the crock pot, leave for work and its ready for dinner when we get home. It makes wonderful pulled pork bbq sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
The BEST pork I have ever tasted! My husband usually has 3-4 helpings each time I make it. So tender and moist. Great alone or as BBQ pork sandwich, or as a quesadilla! Simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
My family loved this roast! Very good! The only negative I can say is that the liquid smoke didn't come through at all. Other than that, the flavor was great, and the meat very moist and tender, even the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I've made this twice now and both times ended up with it being too salty. Be sure to use Hawaiian sea salt and not regular sea salt. The second time I didn't have enough Hawaiian sea salt so used regular sea salt to make up the difference, another mistake. I added more liquid smoke the second time and it was better that way. I cooked it all day in the crockpot so it is a very simple dish. Even with my salty mistakes, still very tasty and I'll continue to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I've made this numerous times and can't get enough of it! I've used oven bags for roasting it in the oven, but making it in my crockpot is much better which helps it even more from drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I make this often. I've also prepared it in my slow cooker. I start it out on low the night before. It is a wonderful recipe! Great with potato/mac salad and Hawaiian sweet bread! So ono.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Great recipe. I also cooked the roast at a lower temp.(325) for 6 hours. I also added some fresh ground black pepper and cut down on the salt. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Delightfully easy! I used a nearly 6 lb shoulder, and it easily fell apart after just 14 hours of cooking. I forgot to poke the pork before I poured on the liquid smoke, but it still came through nicely. I served it as open-faced sandwiches over French brioche with the Mustard Based BBQ sauce from this site. Oh, so yummy! Versatile recipe that I will definitely make again. Oops...I cannot figure out how to delete this, but this review should be on the Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States