Kalua Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This is a great (and simple) way to make pulled pork! I usually get a 5 lb shoulder and cook in my Crockpot overnight for 12-16 hrs. I leave out the water - not needed. The pork makes it's own juices. It always comes out moist and flavorful. I shred the pork and add back juices as needed to keep moist. I always serve this with BBQ sauce on the side, but I prefer it plain (and sometimes just eat it with a fork)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This is so GOOD... Only thing I did differently was cook mine in the crockpot on low for 12 hours... Didnt measure any ingredients... Just came out so flavorful and juciy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I have made this many times. Big family Fav. Great for pulled pork sandwiches, or tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was amazing, tastes like you spent hours on the smoker. I didn't have Hawaiian sea salt but had truffle salt, but it was the liquid smoke that was amazing. So simple, moist not dripping in a lot of liquid perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
What a wonderful and easy recipe! I made this for my daughter's graduation party for 160 people. I cooked 8 pork butts and all guests raved about it. They actually thought I purchased it at one of the local barbecue establishments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious! I always use a boneless pork butt. I serve it over boiled cabbage and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Man oh Man! This was good and easy. My hubby cooked this this weekend & it is so good! We only cooked our roast for 10 hours on low and it was perfectly done. Will probably add a bit more liquid smoke next time (our roast might have been bigger than what was called for in the recipe). But so good. Made BBQ sauce using liquid smoke and that ramped up the smoke taste just enough ;-). Thanks Linda!!! I've been dying to use that pink Hawaiian salt I brought back with me from Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYMTN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made this for my stepson who lived in hawaii for a few years. I didn't tell him what it was and as soon as he ate it- he was very happy! It was very good! I couldn't find hawaiin sea salt but he didn't seem to notice the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Just like kalua pig from a hawaiian luau. The only change I would suggest is to put all the ingredients in a crockpot and let it cook for 8-10 hours on low and you are done!!1 This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
We made this in the crock pot the night before. We were generous with the smoke and salt but it wasn't a 1/4 cup. We made sandwiches with bbq sauce and coleslaw - like Rumbi Island Grill. It was a great hit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States