Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Delicious! Very moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
The ingredients are so simple! However, I cooked it on low for 24+ hours, and about the 12-hr mark I shredded it while it was in the juices. The shredded met soaks it all up and the finish product is just absolutely divine and moist. Not to mention the whole house plus the neighborhood smells of Awesome. A huge family fave, and made this several times on the mainland for family. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
My Mom obtained this recipe in Hawaii when my Dad was stationed there years ago. Being garlic lovers, we've always pierced the pork with a large knife & push 8-10 cloves of garlic into the meat and then cook! It's especially yummy served over rice and makes the best BBQ sandwiches...if there's any leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
We tried this about a week after we got home from a Hawaiian vacation, so the Kahlua Pork was fresh in our minds. Let me just say....PHENOMENAL!!! We have made this SO many times over the past year and have had nothing short of fabulous reviews each time. Only thing is that it only takes us about 12 hours to reach fabulousness...not the 16-20. Try it, you won't be disappointed!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Outstanding basic/key recipe - so easy & such a good result. I used an odd 2.5# cut of pork roast that was very fatty & it cooked beautifully. Used the original size crockpot to maximize the roasting capability of the crock & was out of liquid smoke so used oyster sauce which stank up the house a bit but gave a nice flavor to the roast; I suspect I could forgo any liquid in the rub & still get an excellent result (the pulled pork was served in various sauces so the delicate flavor of the plain pork itself isn't as important for us). I do believe that a certain amount of salt is required for the rub to help the meat give up its juices. Now I'm eager to try this technique with a beef roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena P.N. (Pix)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was pretty good. I will admit, I cheaped out and used kosher salt instead of the sea salt because it's what I had on hand. The pork was amazingly tender but a tiny bit dry - mine didn't make all of those wonderful juices that everyone else is raving about. Still, tender and flavorful. We made pork sandwiches on Italian rolls with thick slices of Swiss cheese. I loved how easy this recipe was - this is what slow cooker recipes are supposed to be! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This tasted pretty similar to what we had in Hawaii. I think next time I will add more smoke and less salt. That is just a personal preference. It was very easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
My hubby HATES pork, and was suspicious when I said, "pork roast" when he asked, "what's for dinner?" He ate a stuffed sandwhich, and extra meat after. Then he took it to work for lunch the next day. He ate it for Dinner that night, AND lunch again the next day. Very rarely does he eat the same thing that many times in a row. I cooked it for 19 hrs, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Terrific EXCEPT Take note of the other reviewers. VERY easy to add too much salt. Use MUCH less than in the recipe. Like no more than 1/2. I don't like the idea of liquid smoke, so I used smoked paprika instead. Here's what I recommend: 1) 2 lbs pork butt or shoulder, 2 1/2 tsp Hawaiian salt, 1 tbsp smoked paprika. Rub over pork. 2) Cook for 16-20 hours on low (flip sometime in the middle) 3) Take out, shred meat. Place back in slow cooker mixing in with juices. Mix in 3-4 cups shredded raw cabbage. 4) Cook on low ~ 1 hour longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States