Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I have made this twice for groups and everyone loved it. The second time I made it, my roast was too big for my slow cooker, so I cooked it overnight in my roaster oven at 200 degrees. The meat browned on the outside and the inside was still moist. It was even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I used a 7+ lb. pork shoulder from which I trimmed the heaviest fat, which brought the meat down to 7 lbs. even. Some previous reviewers noted too much salt, so I amended the salt to a slightly rounded 1 tablespoon. I used 1 tablespoon of liquid smoke. Per instructions I poked holes in the meat with a long fork. Too make it easy on myself I mixed the smoke and salt in a small dish and rubbed it all over the meat I had already placed in the crock pot. I set the pot on low & put the lid on at about 8pm. Around noon the next day my wife took the bone out. At about 3 pm she added about 3 cups of shredded cabbage. At 5pm I pulled out the pork, shredded it, and we ate. Notes: 1) 6 of us ranging from 5 to 90 loved it. 2) It had the perfect amount of salt and the smoke adds a wonderful taste. 3) You don’t need to add liquid. The crock pot was ¾ full of liquid from the cooking meat. 4) Most at the table thought the meat was best on a bun. 5) We served it with macaroni salad which went well. 6) We had enough leftovers to send 1.5 quarts to nearby family and still have leftovers for tomorrow. 7) I used Alaea Sea Salt (red) medium grain ~purchased from Amazon. 8) I used Cedar House Natural Hickory Liquid Smoke also purchased from Amazon~ this brand is sodium free. 9) 3 cups of cabbage is not a lot of cabbage when mixed with 7 lbs. of meat. It added a nice texture and flavor, but was a small percentage of any mouthfuls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I used an 8# shoulder roast. Started it at 4:30 p.m. It was done by midnight but left it as recipe states. Shredded it about noon the following day, came apart very nicely. Quite a bit of 'stuff' that I removed and sent out to the cats. Very nice flavor and super tender and moist. I had a hard time finding the Hawaiian salt. Found it in our local food co-op and it was the red one and it stated that it was the main ingredient in Kalua Pig! I knew then that I was on the right track. I will make it again. I also found the Hawaiian rolls. Can't wait to try the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I cooked exactly to the recipe and while it was very tender, I felt it needed more flavor. Maybe more liquid smoke next time and a good sauce to put on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Overcooked, salty mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken H
Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
If I could give this more stars I would! This was the most tender, juciest pork I have ever had the pleasure of eating. I couldn't find the Hawiian salt the recipe called for so I used 1 T of regular sea salt, as I had read that the Hawiaan wasn't quite as salty. The only other change that I made was to add the unpeeled banana on top. I cooked it for the 18 hours on low in the crockpot, put the liquid in the freezer, skimmed off the fat, and returned the rest of the liquid to the slow cooker. Shredded the meat and put it back in the crockpot and cooked on low for 1 hour more. I toasted some sub rolls in a frying pan with butter, melted some cheddar cheese on the top half of the roll and added a little BBQ sauce to the bottom roll, very small amount. Best pulled pork sandwiches EVER!!! Thank you for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilovemypit

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midvale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Definitely a keeper!! My roast was probably 4 1/2 to 5 lb boneless. My little town didn't have Hawaiian sea salt, so I used Real Salt (mined out of Utah; see realsalt.com). Delicious!! Done in 14 hours on low...turning 3 times. I then removed the roast to a large bowl to shred and remove fat pieces. The juice was put into a bowl and set in the freezer where the fat separated from the juice and was easily removed. The shredded pork and fat-free juice were put back into the slow cooker and simmered for another two hours then set to warm until dinner. Fantastic dinner...served on buns with BBQ sauce on the side with Chinese Cabbage Salad I from this site. Update 4/2015 I used a bone-in, 6 lb roast and it was still done in 14 hours turning only once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I like this recipe, it brings me back to my childhood since I was raised in Hawaii.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I've made this recipe several times & it is delicious. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My wife and I make this frequently. The only difference is that we put about a cup of water in the slow cooker. Also, with a bit of water it only takes around 8-10 hours, depending on size of butt and altitude. I'll try it without the water next time. We have done both boneless and bone-in and find the bone-in has more flavor. That shouldn't be a surprise to anyone. Of course, the perfect complement to this recipe (and mandatory in my house) is poi??.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States