Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Very good with 2 changes: Cut the salt to 1 Tablespoon and, yes this sounds weird but it works perfectly, place 2 UNPEELED bananas on top of the roast when you start the slow cooker. By the time the roast is done the bananas will have melted away and you simply remove the leftover banana skins for the trash. Yes it sounds weird and NO it does not impart a nasty banana taste. It works. Been serving it to rave reviews for over 20 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I've used either sea salt or kosher salt...it usually doesn't take that long to cook, and sometimes I will use a pork loin in place of the pork butt roast...a little less fatty. I also add cabbage for the last hour or so for an authentic kalua pig meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Cooked this for 20 hours, it's amazing, just like the Kalua pig we always had while living in Hawaii!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is one of the best pulled pork recipes I have ever made! Just make sure that you chose a cut that has a bit of fat on it to keep in moist with lots of flavor. The first time I made it, I chose a very lean cut and it wasn't as good as the second time when I made it with a fattier cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelneben

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
did 4lb boneless pork shoulder, 15hours on low = very tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious and a huge hit on Super Bowl Sunday - Yay Seahawks!!! We served on King's Hawaiian Bread sandwich buns and had pork burritos with the leftovers. SO SIMPLE to prep!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Made this for supper today. To die for. It turned out so juicy and fall apart tender. I think my slow cooker thinks it's a fast cooker as it only took 8 hours. LOL. Couldn't find Hawaiian sea salt but did find Himalayan salt. We are having a luau at work next week and this is what I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Simple and delicious. By the time it's done, I can shred it with a spoon! The most amazing part is it can be adjusted for anyone... I've made it for BBQ, added chili paste and made a killer Korean fusion quesadilla, added it to ramen... Very versatile, but good on its own too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Oh I have to say that this recipe was just Onolishious!! Almost like a real Kalua-pig...Mahalo for making this Island boy very happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waimanalo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is excellent! One of my very favorite recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States