Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
It did smell pretty good while cooking, the bone came out very easily at the 12th hour of cooking but after the full cooking time (slow cooker on low setting, about 16 hours) there was barely any taste and it was EXTREMELY greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR_LLC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Great recipe. I found this a while back on another site. Hawaiian salt was found at Whole Foods. It might not be called "Hawaiian Salt", but the ingredients will tell you that you have the right one. Look in the bulk spice section. I didn't use as much salt as mentioned here. Also, I covered the crock pot with aluminum foil to hold in the moisture. Put the foil around the top of the pot, then put on the lid. Most crock pot lids fit too loose for this recipe, since you don't add any liquid. For my tastes, I got the liquid smoke that's just liquid smoke and water. Not the kind with other flavors and ingredients like molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
First of all thanks to Kikukat for a great recipe and to all who submitted helpful reviews. I used a 3# pork loin instead of a pork butt roast. Just didn't cook it as long. Also tried to use as less Hawaiian sea salt as possible and it was still salty but I am thinking that is where the flavor comes from so added with the plain white rice it was just about right! Served this with Lomi Lomi, Hawaiian Coleslaw (both from this site), Hawaiian Sweet bread (from store) and a split pineapple filled with fresh fruit. It all made for a great luau party (along with all the decorations, of course)! Again, Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
With different flavors of liquid smoke available, I wasn't sure if mesquite would work. It did! Everybody loved it and already asking for it for the next party including New Year's Eve party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Wow, this recipe is amazing! I've never been to HI and I've certainly never had a traditional pig roast. I can't compare it to anything but I don't need to. It is fantastic! I've seen this recipe over the years and I looked for Hawaiian sea salt a time or two. I never came across it at the grocery store or Target. However, I did see it Williams-Sonoma but @ that time I wasn't going to spend that much on salt. After this recipe, I would now though! I needed a no fuss recipe to be done by a specific time and I needed it to serve 10 people. My daughter found Hawaiian sea salt @ sprouts and the pork butt roast was a little over 7lbs (smallest the store had). I didn't add anymore salt or liquid smoke to compensate for the extra pound. As I was adding the salt, I was thinking wow, that's a lot. But man, when we sat down to it, it was perfect. My guest loved it and got 2nds & 3rds, my family said its a "do again" meal & I ended up w/2 additional guest which it served everyone and I still had a little left over. We served the Hawaiian buns and made coleslaw as another reviewer suggested. Thanks so much for this recipe, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have a big dinner once a month at my house and needed something easy that would feed a lot of people, so I tried this. I put it in at midnight and when I went to turn it around at 10 am, it all fell apart on me, so I shredded the whole thing (it was shredding on its own by that point) and put it back in. So delicious and easy and pretty cheap! I used regular sea salt since I didn't have anything else and it was totally fine. I like it salty but nobody said it was too salty. I did add a little extra smoke after shredding it and putting it back in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mostlyprobably
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was fantastic!! Even my fussy 12 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wow!! Very very Good!! and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Finally, Hand pounded pa'i'ai farmers sell their goods online. Mine and my wife's homesickness is less and less now that we can make two day old poi (wondered how I even lived with out it) every few days to go with kalua pig that is similar to this recipe, Tako Poke, lomi salmon. It's been a great benefit now that I started running training for a foot race. Mahalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is my go to recipe! I was born and raised in Hawaii and this is makes awesome kalua pig. Only thing better would be getting it back at home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States