Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe was super-simple. I followed the recipe, mostly, but then added some sliced bananas to the top of the roast, which I discarded some time later in the cooking process. I'm not sure if the bananas actually added any thing to the flavor. This recipe was excellent on Hawaiian rolls with a dab of quality BBQ sauce. I bet this would go well in a wrap with some shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misterbillio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Great recipe, easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My meat came out dry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was good although I couldn't find the Hawaiian sea salt anywhere so I just used regular sea salt. I didn't know what to expect since I had different salt and had never used liquid smoke. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I too am from Hawai'i. This is the recipe that we always use and it rocks. I serve it with coconut rice and either stewed cabbage or collard greens. I will post those recipies, very simple ones soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Tender and fell off the bone, but pretty bland. I even added the banana on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kharms70

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is the real deal! I am from Hawaii and living in the mainland, so no imu roasts in the yard like we had growing up. Slow cooker is the next best thing. This is basically the same recipe I have been using to introduce the mainlanders to our way of eating. Sea salt is a must! If you use regular salt it will be way too salty. I have just 2 small recommendations. 1) Place the pork butt with the fat side up to start. 2) Mix the liquid smoke with 2 cups water and pour over the top before coating with the sea salt. With the water added, no need to turn the pork. Just let it cook on high for 8-10 hours and shred. Add the pork back to the liquid because it's loaded with flavor. ... To really go island style, chop up a head of cabbage and add to the shredded pork then cook until it softens. May need a little pepper and soy sauce as the cabbage sucks up the salt. Broke da mouth! (delicious)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike808
Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I love it! It tastes exactly like the kalua pork I ate in Hawaii. Yes it is fatty, but that's how it's supposed to be. Thanks for the recipe! I didn't have liquid smoke, but I did have some extra bold smoked salt that I bought at a wonderful spice store in the Napa Valley. I used only this as it doubled for both the salt and the liquid smoke. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
For those of you substituting Hawaiian Sea Salt with table, kosher, med. salt etc., you should stick to boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harold Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
It did smell pretty good while cooking, the bone came out very easily at the 12th hour of cooking but after the full cooking time (slow cooker on low setting, about 16 hours) there was barely any taste and it was EXTREMELY greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR_LLC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States