Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. I seasoned and cooked as written, but after shredding the pork, followed the suggestions of other reviewers and put it back into the drippings to cook on low for another hour. It was delicious! Next time I will probably put the drippings in the freezer for an hour and skim the fat, to reduce on the greasiness, but it was delicious this way as well. We ate it with Hawaiian sweet rolls and made mini-sandwiches all week for lunch. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
SSSOOOOooooooo good! I've made this a number of times now and it's a no brainer! Great for tailgates and potlucks -- you'll be a hit! I've made this for my friend who grew up in Hawaii and she begged for the recipe! You can find the Hawaiian Sea Salt at Trader Joe's or Cost Plus Market. Sur La Table also carries it, but at a much higher price. --Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I can't get enough of this dish. I eat it with steamed cabbage and use red Hawiian sea salt. If you make this you must use the three ingredients stated in the dish. You CAN NOT substitue here even a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
My boyfriend liked it. I loved it! I will definitely make it again! I took the advice of one reviewer and added cabbage for the last hour. It was fantastic! Thanks for posting this awesome simple recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
So easy and delicious! This is a no brainier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooka324

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is delicious! I have vacationed in Hawaii many times and was so delighted to find an easy version to try at home. After reading pages and pages of reviews, and making this several times, I have found the perfect recipe to suit everyone I have entertained. This recipe is pretty much fool-proof, only things I do different are: remove the big layer of fat; I find the marbling throughout the pork butt/shoulder gives off enough juices. Then add about a half cup of pineapple juice to the slowcooker, add my fork stabbed, salt rubbed and liquid smoked pork, then topped with 2 bananas, peels on and just a slit along it length wise. Thats it! After 6 hours I flip it, another 6 and its ready to shred! Juices go into a tall glass and into the freezer while I shred, skim off fat, then return fatless juices to the slowcooker with the now shredded pork. I leave in for about an hour to soak up juices, then serve however I feel like it. One of my favorite ways is to cook this overnight, then for breakfast make scrambled eggs, the Kalua pork, and wrap in a whole wheat tortilla. Yup! I use a 5.5 bone in shoulder/butt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Not that this recipe needs anymore rave reviews, but I will say that it tastes exactly like the kalua pork I had in Maui. All I need is Aloha Mixed Plate's Guava BBQ sauce recipe and I'm good to go! The only thing I'd say is that I'd probably shave off an hour's worth of cooking time when I make this again. Mine was still tender and moist, but not as much as I would like. Also, for lack of banana leaves, I rubbed the roast all over with the inside of a couple banana peels. Seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Everyone loved the kalua pig! The second time around I added just a bit of water and it was even juicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
As is, the recipe was pretty dry - but served up on french rolls with warmed BBQ sauce? Pretty darn awesome. And you can't beat the simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Just as most everone says, "it is great"! The only thing different I did was follow another persons post and slice a banana in half (length way) and lay over the meat; I also add three toes of garlic. Thank you sooo much for sharing this recipe; it is appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States