Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This recipe reminds me of home! All the Ohana parties!! After cooking, I added cabbage and onions. Cooking still on low for a couple of hours more... cabbage and onions were always served with Kalua Pig. Being a local Hawaiian Girl, I try to cook foods that I grew up with for my Husband. And by far this is one of his favorites... next to Ahi Poke, and Chinese Rice Cake! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Made this how the recipe calls. It was okay. I added more seasoning than called for, and it still tasted bland to me. I tried making it one more time, this time adding a half bottle of Soyaki. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadeeLuck84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This was DELICIOUS!! Even with ALL the great reviews, I was a bit skeptical about only 3 ingredients. But this is so flavorful and tender!! I didn't have Hawaiian sea salt, so I used kosher sea salt and it was delicious! And SO easy, I used a 3 lb roast and let it cook for 12 hrs, and then shredded it(which, really, it shredded itself) and put it back in the cooker with the juices and left it on until dinner(about 4 more hrs). Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This a great recipe! I wrapped the pork in a banana leaf after I added the liquid smoke and salt. Gave it an incredible authentic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Meat was very good. Thank you for such a easy meat to fix. I read many, many reviews because I needed ideas for the whole meal. Fixed mac salad with pineapple and carrots in it, rice and shredded cabbage to go with it. Made a bunch of adults and kids very happy. Desert was chocolate fondue and fruit. A fun meal and I even have leftovers for work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Love it!!! Made this for dinner on Tuesday night. I usually smoke a boston butt in the smoker but decided since it was raining to try this out. This was absolutely delicious. I would not change a thing. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I'd give this 10 stars of I could! Could not be any simpler, but it has so much flavor! It smelled like I was slow cooking bacon all day, definitely had the family drooling by dinner time! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
A hit for a Boy Scouts gathering. I made it in a 6 quart crock pot and it was done in 8 hours. Followed the advice of others who said to remove juices, place in freezer, remove fat, and then return the natural juices back into the shredded pork. That was the key to a super moist, richly flavored, not greasy, fabulous dish. Btw, I was born, raised and live in Hawaii. This is as authentic as you can get without using an imu. Next time I will try putting in the banana on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I made this for my husband's birthday. I got a 4lb pork butt with bones (all they had) and cooked it on high for four hours...added 2 cups of cabbage and 1 more tspn of Liquid Smoke...then cooked for one more hour. I cut up some fresh papaya and pineapple on the side, made sticky rice (sushi rice) and bought some sweet hawaiian rolls. The only thing missing were the fire throwers ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was fantastic! I cut the recipe in half because I was only feeding 3. I used a 3 lb roast and cooked it for 10 hours on low. I couldn't find Hawaiian sea salt so I just used regular sea salt and added a little extra liquid smoke. Served it with Asian slaw and Hawaiian sweet rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,099) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States