Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I was so excited to try this recipe, having had Kalua Pig in Hawaii. I followed everything perfectly, but it was too oily for my taste and could've used a bit more liquid smoke. (Both reasons, I do realize are my personal taste and have nothing to do with the recipe.) The reason for the 3 stars is because the pork can be transformed into bbq pork the next day and pork tacos the next. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was easy to fix and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Very good. It was a little salty for our tastes but that's an easy adjustment. Super easy to make. Our children loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Super easy and super tasty. Great with pineapple salsa. One of my daughters favorites! Makes the house smell great too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Simple, but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Spahr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I don't know that I've ever tasted anything so good. My mouth waters just thinking about it. Served it at a Hawaiian themed birthday party and there was not a piece left over! Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and each time the meat was tender and full of flavor. It tastes great by itself or with a little BBQ sauce on the side. I think it tastes best served on Hawaiian Bread rolls. I have also added some green chilies and salsa to make carnitas out of the leftovers (it was amazing!). It is so easy to make. I am often asked when I am making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bandmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I love kalua pork. I am from Hawaii, and this is the common kalua pork recipe floating around the island. The only thing I do different is add 1/3 cup of water to the pot, so it doesn't turn out so salty. I also like to shred an entire head of cabbage about an hour or so before the pork is ready to be eaten. It's always a hit and everyone always requests it. This is a fool proof recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Super yummy, My husband and son raved about this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
AMAZING! So easy! Tender and delicious. Everyone loved it. Many of my guests asked for the recipe. I found red hawaiian sea salt at TJMax Home Goods in the specialty food section and the liquid smoke at Target. It wasn't salty at all. The only change I made was I added a banana while cooking as suggested by many. After I shredded the pork I added it back into the drippings and turned the pot to warm until ready to serve. Then I pour it all into a strainer to remove the fat and served with rice and hawaiian sweet rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States