Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I couldn't find Hawaiian salt anywhere, so I used what I had left of some smoked salt (about 2tp) and kosher salt to rub. Although I will definitely look for Hawaiian salt in the future, even with my substitute it was very good. I added a halved brown banana on the top while cooking due to other reviews but I'm not sure it made a difference. It was done in only 11 hours on low on my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This was only the second dish I've made that I actually couldn't eat when it was done. Not sure if I messed it up or if it was the recipe but I will not be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaltadonis
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Really good, easy and even though I am not a 'mac salad' girl, I make one with a recipe from Hawai'i magazine when I make this. Get the salt from Cost Plus World Market
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Bart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This was SOOOO easy and SOOOO good! With Hawaiian buns and a little cole slaw - FABULOUS! I had only 3 lbs of meet which cooked really fast (less than 10 hrs). I also thought it was a little salty, so will use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This is the easiest recipe on earth! Now, I made some small changes... I know, I know, I know... But, I found this other recipe online first and bacon sounded great. Same thing as this recipe, except I lined the bottom of my crockpot with raw bacon... about 5 pcs. I had an 8.5 lb roast and it took up the entire pot...not exaggerating! I salted the heck out of it with plain sea salt and then took whole peeled garlic cloves (you can buy these in a small tub at the grocery store!) and stabbed the roast all over with a paring knife and stuck one in each spot. Total of maybe 8 garlic cloves. I put it on high and cooked it for 8 or 9 hrs. I do want to try the liquid smoke, but I didn't have it on hand. But, it turned out AMAZING nonetheless. No water needed!! Do not add water!! It cooks in its own juices and my crockpot was FULL of the broth once it was finished cooking. If I had added juice it would have overflowed. After 8 hours it was falling apart. And my roast had a little bone in the middle. Then I took it all out and shredded it, couldn't find the garlic or bacon. It all just cooked together! Super simple. I served it with a jar of BBQ sauce for people to put on if they wanted, but it is sooooo much better as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Follow the directions and ingredients exactly as called for and you won't be disappointed. Pair it with a recipe you will find on all recipes "sweet restaurant Cole slaw" and it's amazing! I put the pulled pork on a Hawaiian sweet bun and topped with the slaw, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Made this yesterday. I used the exact recipe with a 3lb pork butt roast. Added about a cup of water in the bottom and cooked on high for 6 hours. I removed the roast to shred it and then put it back in the slow cooker for about 10 minutes. It was good by itself and even better with Sweet Baby's BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cochran 75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This pork dish was really good and even better with a can of pineapples poured over the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terilk1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
used more liquid smoke than the recipe called for. Removed the pork from the pot, removed the fat from the pork and then chilled the pot so excess fat was easily removed before adding drippings back to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I made this twice for 2 large crowds (40+) so I had to use a couple of roasters and cooked it for 24-26 hours at between 200 and 225 degrees. The first was an older crowd and the second was a group of college students. Even those who stated they did not like pork reluctantly tried it after hearing their peers rave. They were so surprised to find themselves coming back for seconds! I ordered the sea salt online for ease. The only one who may have wanted to complain was my boxer who had to smell this cooking all night and day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States