Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My husband's Grandmother is Hawaiian and his brother lives there. He swears this tastes like the traditional pig. I used Applewood liguid smoke and Hawaiian sea salt. It is a larger grain of salt and so you do not need as much. I cooked mine for 20 hours on low and it was fabulous. You can buy Hawaiian sea salts via Amazon, if you do not have a local resource market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Maybe my slow cooker runs hot, but I don't have to cook it for very long. Like six hours or seven and it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Did not care for this at all! Very greasy and not much flavor. Definitely does not taste like a pig thats been roasted in the ground! Had to add BBQ sauce just so it was bearable to eat! Extremely disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was excellent. I bought raw tortillas and cooked them. Served pork rolled in tortillas, with a great guacamole (recipe on allrecipes), sour cream, cheese and lettuce, and homemade salsa, and rice. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made this yesterday and I won't cook my pulled pork any other way! I cooked it on low for 8 hours and it totally fell apart and was so juicy. Took me right back to my trip to Oahu. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a fine recipe however, I added 2 Tbls. of Kahlua to the mix. Everybody loved it. It came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This recipe was super-simple. I followed the recipe, mostly, but then added some sliced bananas to the top of the roast, which I discarded some time later in the cooking process. I'm not sure if the bananas actually added any thing to the flavor. This recipe was excellent on Hawaiian rolls with a dab of quality BBQ sauce. I bet this would go well in a wrap with some shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misterbillio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Great recipe, easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My meat came out dry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was good although I couldn't find the Hawaiian sea salt anywhere so I just used regular sea salt. I didn't know what to expect since I had different salt and had never used liquid smoke. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States