Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Followed the recipe to the letter. Overcooked, salty mush. Maybe I'm missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken H
Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
If I could give this more stars I would! This was the most tender, juciest pork I have ever had the pleasure of eating. I couldn't find the Hawiian salt the recipe called for so I used 1 T of regular sea salt, as I had read that the Hawiaan wasn't quite as salty. The only other change that I made was to add the unpeeled banana on top. I cooked it for the 18 hours on low in the crockpot, put the liquid in the freezer, skimmed off the fat, and returned the rest of the liquid to the slow cooker. Shredded the meat and put it back in the crockpot and cooked on low for 1 hour more. I toasted some sub rolls in a frying pan with butter, melted some cheddar cheese on the top half of the roll and added a little BBQ sauce to the bottom roll, very small amount. Best pulled pork sandwiches EVER!!! Thank you for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Definitely a keeper!! My roast was probably 4 1/2 to 5 lb boneless. My little town didn't have Hawaiian sea salt, so I used Real Salt (mined out of Utah; see realsalt.com). Delicious!! Done in 14 hours on low...turning 3 times. I then removed the roast to a large bowl to shred and remove fat pieces. The juice was put into a bowl and set in the freezer where the fat separated from the juice and was easily removed. The shredded pork and fat-free juice were put back into the slow cooker and simmered for another two hours then set to warm until dinner. Fantastic dinner...served on buns with BBQ sauce on the side with Chinese Cabbage Salad I from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Pork Butt or "Boston Butt" is in reference to the butt end of the front leg, also know as the shoulder. The rear or rump roast is referred to as a ham, whether it's been smoked,cured or is still raw,it is a HAM if it is from the rear leg. I also like this recipe and yes it brings me back to my childhood since I was raised in Hawaii. My first experience with this recipe here on 'da mainland' is when my sister-in-law made it in the oven, wrapped in 5 layers of foil, and "baked" at 300F for 30 minutes for every pound. If you use a small(er) piece of meat you need to reduce the salt,etc. I like the idea of the banana on top and will try that improvisation. Too bad I can't find some Poi to go along with the Kalua Pig. Shaka Bruddah's and Sistah's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
haven't tried yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I've made this recipe several times & it is delicious. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
My wife and I make this frequently. The only difference is that we put about a cup of water in the slow cooker. Also, with a bit of water it only takes around 8-10 hours, depending on size of butt and altitude. I'll try it without the water next time. We have done both boneless and bone-in and find the bone-in has more flavor. That shouldn't be a surprise to anyone. Of course, the perfect complement to this recipe (and mandatory in my house) is poi??.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
easy to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I get rave reviews everytime I make this. Incredibly easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Koerner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I was raised in Hawaii and except for using a crock pot or slow cooker instead of an imu this is the real deal. I live on the central coast of CA where there are banana trees on just about every block so I ask a neighbor for a couple of the leaves. I wrap my pork roast in the banana leaves after rubbing the salt and liquid smoke over it. I however use Kosher salt instead of sea salt. Realistically everything that lives in the sea poops and pees in it, humans empty both treated and raw sewage into the oceans and birds fly over the drying ponds, no thank you. I always use a good sized pork butt because we love the left overs and they freeze well. The amount of salt I use depends on whether the roast is large or very large. Gotta have sticky rice to go with it topped with the shredded pork and juices. The first bite always brings back a flood of memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States