Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by oanhs
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This was so good and simple! I started with 8.5 lbs of pork butt/shoulder and gave it a good wash and pat dry. I rubbed about 1.25 tablespoon white Himalayan salt all over the pork and 1 tablespoon Wrights liquid smoke. I cooked for 11 hours on low and then took the meat out. I poured the remaining pork liquid into a glass bowl (there was so much!) and threw away huge chunks of fat. Then I cut half a head of shredded cabbage into the slow cooker with the Kalua pork. I poured about 1 cup of pork liquid back in. Cooked on low for another hour so that the cabbage breaks down. The salt and smoke flavor was perfect. Add more liquid if needed! It was so good and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oanhs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Oh my gosh this was delicious, my mouth is watering as I type this. I followed the recipe all the way trough. added the shredded cabbage on top for the last hour on low.(made that extra touch)served it over rice. I used a 2-1/2 pound roast and it made plenty for leftovers too.cooked it on high for 6 hours turning once in awhile. the last hour on low when I added the cabbage. next time I will add more cabbage it was that good!! Thank you I will be making this a lot more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
GREAT RECIPE! I used the Trader Joe's sea salt I already had instead of the black salt (which my supermarket doesn't carry), and I probably tripled or even quadrupled the amount of Liquid Smoke seasoning during the course of cooking. I was able to spoon a lot of the fat off the meat before serving it the first time, and the next night I was able to get a lot more off once it had been chilled in the fridge. I served it first with hot rolls, then with French fries and salad, and the third time I even tossed the meat and gravy with whole-wheat rotini and chopped roasted broccoli. It's the dinner entree that keeps on giving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I went with ES' version! 2.5 lb boneless pork shoulder (Safeway butchers will cut open a package & make a smaller cut if you ask kindly ;-). ) no fork so used paring knife to 'stab' the meat thoroughly then rubbed in 1/2 tablespoon smoked sea salt followed by 1/2 tablespoon liquid smoke-mesquite. Then cooked 3 hours on high turning 4 times the first hour then once every hour after that. Turned to low after three hours as sound of cooking fat changed. Checked meat temp & was at 170 already! Cooked another 2 hours on low to see what would happen. Shredded the pork then returned it to the cooker for an hour on low to soak up the juices with about 4 cups of shredded cabbage since I & my friends are trying to cut back on meats without cutting back on great food! Served with short grain rice. Couldn't find sushi rice so went with basmati. Did not find it too salty, but will put out extra smoked salt for those guests who prefer that. ROCK ON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
3 ingredients to awesomeness. My finance is from Hawaii and LOVED this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Glenda, why would you rate a recipe when you haven't tried it, for crying out loud?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Goodfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Amazing! I cooked it for 24 hours in my slow cooker and followed the recipe exactly. This was so good! We put the meat on sandwiches and I added a dash of apple cider vinegar on top. This recipe is so simple but the results are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Easy for a "bad cook"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca K.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Tastes the same as the kalua pig from the pit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This was amazing, and after it sat for several days in fridge, it was even better. I did not have Hawaiian sea salt so I used regular sea salt and a small can of pineapple juice. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kovac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States