Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
OMG! I made this for a group of use planning on going to Maui-not a crumb left! I didn't change a thing. Also made fruit coleslaw and beans. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I ended up adding more liquid smoke because we could barely taste it. This was ok...nothing to write home about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I used half of a pork loin; a much drier meat so I was surprised by how much wonderful juice produced. After shredding I put the meat back into the cooker with the juice to let it soak up all that flavor. I also found that leftovers (when you have them) can easily be transformed for other dishes...like pork fried rice, or taco filling. The uses are endless, so I always try to cook extra and freeze it for future quick uses. Unbelievably good and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I couldn't find Hawaiian salt anywhere, so I used what I had left of some smoked salt (about 2tp) and kosher salt to rub. Although I will definitely look for Hawaiian salt in the future, even with my substitute it was very good. I added a halved brown banana on the top while cooking due to other reviews but I'm not sure it made a difference. It was done in only 11 hours on low on my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
This was only the second dish I've made that I actually couldn't eat when it was done. Not sure if I messed it up or if it was the recipe but I will not be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaltadonis
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Really good, easy and even though I am not a 'mac salad' girl, I make one with a recipe from Hawai'i magazine when I make this. Get the salt from Cost Plus World Market
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Bart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This was SOOOO easy and SOOOO good! With Hawaiian buns and a little cole slaw - FABULOUS! I had only 3 lbs of meet which cooked really fast (less than 10 hrs). I also thought it was a little salty, so will use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This is the easiest recipe on earth! Now, I made some small changes... I know, I know, I know... But, I found this other recipe online first and bacon sounded great. Same thing as this recipe, except I lined the bottom of my crockpot with raw bacon... about 5 pcs. I had an 8.5 lb roast and it took up the entire pot...not exaggerating! I salted the heck out of it with plain sea salt and then took whole peeled garlic cloves (you can buy these in a small tub at the grocery store!) and stabbed the roast all over with a paring knife and stuck one in each spot. Total of maybe 8 garlic cloves. I put it on high and cooked it for 8 or 9 hrs. I do want to try the liquid smoke, but I didn't have it on hand. But, it turned out AMAZING nonetheless. No water needed!! Do not add water!! It cooks in its own juices and my crockpot was FULL of the broth once it was finished cooking. If I had added juice it would have overflowed. After 8 hours it was falling apart. And my roast had a little bone in the middle. Then I took it all out and shredded it, couldn't find the garlic or bacon. It all just cooked together! Super simple. I served it with a jar of BBQ sauce for people to put on if they wanted, but it is sooooo much better as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Follow the directions and ingredients exactly as called for and you won't be disappointed. Pair it with a recipe you will find on all recipes "sweet restaurant Cole slaw" and it's amazing! I put the pulled pork on a Hawaiian sweet bun and topped with the slaw, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Made this yesterday. I used the exact recipe with a 3lb pork butt roast. Added about a cup of water in the bottom and cooked on high for 6 hours. I removed the roast to shred it and then put it back in the slow cooker for about 10 minutes. It was good by itself and even better with Sweet Baby's BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Cochran 75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States