Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I have a big dinner once a month at my house and needed something easy that would feed a lot of people, so I tried this. I put it in at midnight and when I went to turn it around at 10 am, it all fell apart on me, so I shredded the whole thing (it was shredding on its own by that point) and put it back in. So delicious and easy and pretty cheap! I used regular sea salt since I didn't have anything else and it was totally fine. I like it salty but nobody said it was too salty. I did add a little extra smoke after shredding it and putting it back in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mostlyprobably
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This was fantastic!! Even my fussy 12 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wow!! Very very Good!! and Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Finally, Hand pounded pa'i'ai farmers sell their goods online. Mine and my wife's homesickness is less and less now that we can make two day old poi (wondered how I even lived with out it) every few days to go with kalua pig that is similar to this recipe, Tako Poke, lomi salmon. It's been a great benefit now that I started running training for a foot race. Mahalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
DON'T BOTHER. Hawaiian Sea Salt impossible to find. Went to 3 different stores including Trader Joe's and Whole Foods. TJ's used to carry it, but no more, it's a "specialty item."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is my go to recipe! I was born and raised in Hawaii and this is makes awesome kalua pig. Only thing better would be getting it back at home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Was really good. I will be making thie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Not to mention very easy. The only thing I changed was I used 1tbl spoon of the white Hawaiian salt and a half tbl spoon of the black Hawaiian salt because I wanted a little more of the smoky flavor and it turned out perfect, I will not change a thing. I'm looking forward to leftovers and frying some of the meat and making some carnitas. I do not know how to cook at all but I did this and I'm completely satisfied as is my husband. It gave me confidence that I can try some other recipes....I'm just getting started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medranoml

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I have been making kalua pig while we lived on the Islands and now on the mainland. I used to use banana leaf but now since we no longer have a banana tree in my backyard, I use 4-5 whole bananas. I poke holes all over the pork and then rub the smoke and salt all over. With fat side up, place bananas on top then on goes the lid. I cook for 3 hours high then 5-6 on low. We eat it with white rice and peas. Yummy! Also with leftovers, kalua pig nachos are great. Just layers of nacho chips, cheese, pig, then top with black olives, tomatoes, guacamole, whatever you like! This recipe is da kine grinds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WahiniSuzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haiku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
So simple and SO GOOD! I made this for a church party of 30 people and everyone loved it. Make sure to check around before buying the Hawaiian Sea Salt. I could only find it at one store (Hy-Vee Health Market) in Cedar Rapids, IA and it was $14.00 for 7oz.! If you have the time, make sure to look on line to buy it as you can find it much cheaper! Because I was short on time, I read the reviews and was going to cheat on the salt but decided to buy it at that price anyway. So glad I did. It really is different. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,099) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States