Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This recipe is a great recipe and makes super moist pork. We use it for tacos, pulled pork sandwiches and even Cuban sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This really is good. Great aroma too. Good on bread, in salad, or as carnitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Amazing!!! My kids ate several servings and that is totally not normal. Just told my daughter (4yo) that I was making it again and she RAN over to hug me cause she was so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Really a great recipe. You can use any sea salt, but the pink salt has a little something special to it. I have let it cook the 20 hours and also cooked it 8 hours and both were fabulous. Serve with macaroni salad for authentic Hawaiian fare. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was very flavorful, moreso than I expected with only 3 ingredients! So easy to make. My only recommendation is to cut back on the salt by about half a tbsp (to start, may need more) only because the meat did come out a little too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
We have made this more than once and love it. I typically use a pork shoulder. Until just recently I was making this with regular sea salt, but I now have some Hawaiian salt purchased just to make this recipe. I wonder if that will change the taste any? Great for football games, birthday parties and New Year's Eve. You won't be disappointed with this tenderness and flavor of this pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Love this. Made it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I can't believe I haven't rated & reviewed this recipe before now! I have been using it for at least three years! It's my go to pulled pork recipe! We have it plain the first night, BBQ sandwiches the 2nd night, and BBQ Stuffed Baked Potatoes the 3rd night! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Loved this simple recipe! Used a 8lb pork shoulder and cooked on high for 3 hours and low for 6 hours. Shredded meat and drained juices into a bowl and put in the freezer. Once fat hardened on top of the bowl, scraped off and returned remaining liquid and meat to slow cooker. Added liquid smoke and hawaiian salt to taste and cooked for one more hour on low. Received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
My husband's Grandmother is Hawaiian and his brother lives there. He swears this tastes like the traditional pig. I used Applewood liguid smoke and Hawaiian sea salt. It is a larger grain of salt and so you do not need as much. I cooked mine for 20 hours on low and it was fabulous. You can buy Hawaiian sea salts via Amazon, if you do not have a local resource market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

See how to make incredibly succulent Hawaiian-style pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States