Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I followed some of the suggestions on previous reviews, i.e. beef broth instead of water, added a can of diced tomatoes, switched out the hot Portuguese peppers with a jalapeno and used white kidney (cannellini) beans. I used linguica sausage, left out the pork chop and added a chopped carrot since I didn't have any cabbage. It was so good, I had two small bowls for dinner - the leftovers will make an awesome lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Semola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
OK I did substitute - jalapenos for the portugese peppers and a spicy texas sausage for the portugese sausage, extra kale instead of savoy cabbage. that said (and I don't think those changes are major) this was SO GOOD! I would have thought it needed spices (oregano, cumin, something) but it does NOT. somehow the flavors together are just perfect. whoops - I did not use a pork chop either. I imagine with the stuff I left out, it would be even better!!!! thanks for a great recipe that we will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I opened up the fridge and found some leftover beans, potatoes, and limp arugala. Used this recipe as a clearing out leftovers. I made the soup with a ham base and skipped the meat (we don't like a lot of meat in soups) and garbanzos. Otherwise it was made per the recipe. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Had to cut this recipe in half and it still made enough to feed us a few times (3 people). I used beef stock as a base that's what I had on hand, kept one whole onion and 1 can of Garbanzo beans (no waste) and 1/2 all other ingredients. Added a can of unsalted diced tomato and a small yellow squash (to use it up). Used chourice. My husband loved it. WHooohooo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I just made this soup and it tastes fantastic. The only thing I did different was I used all beef broth instead of water and I used Al Fresco's Chirizo and Al Fresco's Sweet Italian Sausage instead of pork. I also added a can of diced tomatoes and I did not add the hot peppers. This healthy soup will be my dinner tonight and lunch all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe but I did merge this one and another that was on Allrecipes. The negatives come from one suggesting the Portuguese crushed pepper (messa pimenta?) 3 tablespoons! I put only 2 thinking 3 would be too much. Well 2 was too much. I would suggest using only 1 or none. I don't mind spicy to a point but the heat took over the taste. I also had no idea on prepping the kale. I used fresh. I was told you should use frozen (even by old school women) and when using fresh you need to chop it very very small. I chopped it but not small at all thinking it would render down. The kale was still crunchy and a bit tough. (and yes, I had taken out the middle vein)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Super Soup! I did use butter beans since thats what was on hand,and used bean with bacon soup for the other bean! It as a great choice and substituted the chourico with Kielbasa.Added hot pepper flakes since we like it spicy hot. We LOVE this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Once I discovered that using stock or broth in place of water,my stews-soups became sooooo much better,no matter what kind it was.I also make alot of my own stock/broth and freeze it & keep 2 store-bought containers of chicken/beef in the cupboard all the time.I am now making the Kale soup-its in the crockpot. We dont care for the beans or peppers-but everything else is the same.I have a Crusty French Boule for bread,and I'll make a salad if anybody wants some,but they'll probaly fill up on soup.Since the Kale that was purchased was a huge amount-I set aside some for the soup and blanched the rest for the freezer for winter soups. Thats some good vitamin broth there. Within an hour we should be smelling that yummy smell! We lov Linquica,but eat it sparingly,and thats what I use when making Kale soup. I give this a high 5*!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
So good. Had it for dinner and just couldn't stop thinking about it so had it for breakfast as well ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by courtbake87
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
really good! I did a few changes to the recipe, but it still came out really well. I didn't add any beans and I left out the hot peppers and pork chops. I used beef broth to add more flavor. Other than that I made this the way the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtbake87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States