Kale Soup with Portuguese Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Have been cooking Green Soup for years (with almost same recipe). Delicious. Don't understand need for 8 hour cooking of canned beans, or why you would discard onion and garlic. Kale would best be cut very finely. I usually add a few potatoes. Thing I'll make some right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I used these ingredients but substituted a fresh chicken basil sausage. Added half quartered onion and crushed garlic to only chicken broth along with spices. Also added some crumbled left over bacon bits. When onion nearly cooked added sausage for 1 and a half hours. Removed solids from broth and skinned sausage and broke it and onions into smaller chunks. Put kale and carrots into broth for another 90 min. Added sausage and removed onions, bacon bits and crushed garlic. Added pinto beans (on hand) and a can of spicy pepper crushed tomato. Heated to temperature at YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I left out the garlic salt, and added a little more paprika [in addition to what's in the Andouille], and I added some marjoram and saffron. I envision making this again and trying adding oregano, tarragon, chervil, or basil. Also, I used Linguiça Portuguese sausage, because I happened across it in a Latin market near me; it's not usually readily available in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The proportions are great, but I've made a few changes to the method. I start with the sausage, halved and sliced in the pot with some olive oil so it won't stick. I cook that for a little while, then remove the suasage and add the carrots, cook for about 3-5 min, then add the onion, celery and garlic (half a jalipeno, seeded deveined, sometimes) and cook until they are soft. I add all the the other ingredients, including sausage and simmer until done, about an hour-and-a-half. I make this every few weeks during the cold months and the whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Yummy! After reading all the reviews, and following Beatrice's time table, I started with a hot italian sausage, added 1 jalapeno, cut the recipe down to 10 servings (as dinner it was 4), and it was ready in 1 1/2 hours. This will be a regular around here all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I changed it up a little; chopped up the onion and garlic, threw it in the crockpot with the chicken/beef stock, beans, sausage, and carrots. Don't add any extra salt, the sausage will take care of that! Also added a few tablespoons of tomato paste and a splash of red wine. let it cook on high for around 3 hours, then added the chopped up kale. SOOOO delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was a GREAT soup but I gave it 4 stars because I had to modify a few things to get it to great. As other reviews suggested (and my slow-cooker intuition told me) I removed the sausage from casing and fried it with onions and put it in the very beginning. I didn't have broth, so u used 2 tbsp of beef bouillon and to make it lower cal, I used spicy turkey sausage. Also, I left the onions and garlic in and upped them both (as well as the carrots and celery). The soup came out SUPER hearty, healthy and flavorful despite being low-cal, low-fat, low-sodium. This was a great base for a recipe that I tweaked and fine-tuned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This soup was tastey to me. Some of my kids and husband really liked it and some kids thought it was just alright. I do not think the serving amount is correct, or maybe I just serve big bowls of soup, but I think not. Thank goodness I used another quart of chicken stock for a total of 3 quarts of stock. I followed other suggestions and chopped the onion and minced the garlic, and added extra garlic. I substituted green chard for kale. I also added bit of red pepper flakes and tossed in about 3/4 cup of frozen okra to help thicken it up just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I found this dish had a lot of potential but really lacking in flavor. It was quite bland and I figured out why. Why simmer canned beans for 8 hours and then discard the onion and garlic? This caused everything at this point to be way over done (8 hours cooking on LOW). Why add garlic salt when you've added fresh garlic cloves and kosher salt? Increase the garlic cloves and kosher salt. Lastly, by adding the sausage only long enough to smell the sausage fails to infuse it's flavor into the beans. Bottom line, cook the whole thing except for the kale for about 4 to 5 hours. That said, I made it again, added 3 chopped serrano peppers, 1 with seeds, increased the garlic cloves 8 fold and added the kale half way through. To me, the secret here is to infuse all of these wonderful flavors including the sausage into the beans and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States