Kale Soup with Portuguese Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by A Hsia
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Awesome concept! I got the non-veggie eaters in my family to eat KALE! I substituted zuchini and mushrooms instead of carrots and celery. I also took out the beans and added ground turkey. Because I was in a hurry I cooked the sausage and the turkey in broth on medium high on the stove, this brought out the juices and I could see oil floating on top. A few hours in the slow cooker and this was great broth. Did not throw out my precious garlic and onions. Added the meat vegetables and kale and as soon as the kale melted it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Hsia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Made this recipe last night. I recommend cooking it the way I did. I thought it was delicious. ( All of the ingredients were cooked well and not mushy) Set Crockpot on low for 8 hours. 1. Add beans, stock, half onion, carrots, * 1 can corn, * 1 potato chopped small 2. After 3 hours add sausage, celery 3. For the last hour remove onion, add kale and put crockpot on warm setting 4. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
My husband is from New Bedford, MA where Portuguese food is popular. He loved this soup. It was my first time making it and I wanted to surprise him. He suggested add Brussels sprouts and substituting red beans for white. I skipped the carrots because I didn't think he liked cooked carrots, but he missed them. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julesg3
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
The right sausage is critical- don't skimp on flavor. I actually browned the sausage, onion , carrot, celery with thyme first. Then add everything but kale and put on low for 4 or hi for 8. Add kale for 20-30 minutes with some orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was a GREAT soup but I gave it 4 stars because I had to modify a few things to get it to great. As other reviews suggested (and my slow-cooker intuition told me) I removed the sausage from casing and fried it with onions and put it in the very beginning. I didn't have broth, so u used 2 tbsp of beef bouillon and to make it lower cal, I used spicy turkey sausage. Also, I left the onions and garlic in and upped them both (as well as the carrots and celery). The soup came out SUPER hearty, healthy and flavorful despite being low-cal, low-fat, low-sodium. This was a great base for a recipe that I tweaked and fine-tuned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Yummy! After reading all the reviews, and following Beatrice's time table, I started with a hot italian sausage, added 1 jalapeno, cut the recipe down to 10 servings (as dinner it was 4), and it was ready in 1 1/2 hours. This will be a regular around here all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Duffin Larson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The proportions are great, but I've made a few changes to the method. I start with the sausage, halved and sliced in the pot with some olive oil so it won't stick. I cook that for a little while, then remove the suasage and add the carrots, cook for about 3-5 min, then add the onion, celery and garlic (half a jalipeno, seeded deveined, sometimes) and cook until they are soft. I add all the the other ingredients, including sausage and simmer until done, about an hour-and-a-half. I make this every few weeks during the cold months and the whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I used these ingredients but substituted a fresh chicken basil sausage. Added half quartered onion and crushed garlic to only chicken broth along with spices. Also added some crumbled left over bacon bits. When onion nearly cooked added sausage for 1 and a half hours. Removed solids from broth and skinned sausage and broke it and onions into smaller chunks. Put kale and carrots into broth for another 90 min. Added sausage and removed onions, bacon bits and crushed garlic. Added pinto beans (on hand) and a can of spicy pepper crushed tomato. Heated to temperature at YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou-Deane Craft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This soup was tastey to me. Some of my kids and husband really liked it and some kids thought it was just alright. I do not think the serving amount is correct, or maybe I just serve big bowls of soup, but I think not. Thank goodness I used another quart of chicken stock for a total of 3 quarts of stock. I followed other suggestions and chopped the onion and minced the garlic, and added extra garlic. I substituted green chard for kale. I also added bit of red pepper flakes and tossed in about 3/4 cup of frozen okra to help thicken it up just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I changed it up a little; chopped up the onion and garlic, threw it in the crockpot with the chicken/beef stock, beans, sausage, and carrots. Don't add any extra salt, the sausage will take care of that! Also added a few tablespoons of tomato paste and a splash of red wine. let it cook on high for around 3 hours, then added the chopped up kale. SOOOO delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States