Kale Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I bought Kale for my morning smoothie since its said to be good fore you. After I tasted my green shake and realized I couldn't choke it down, I decided to find a different way to incorporate it into my diet. I'm glad I found this site, it was very good! I like my slaw more .. sloppy, so I doubled the juices and mayo. It was a great way to eat Kale and I'll actually buy it again one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This was an interesting dish - I had mixed reviews from the family. I guess I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I loosely followed this recipe using most of the same ingredients and it came out very good! I will definitely make it again because it's a good way to add more kale to my diet. I used chopped kale mixed with shredded cabbage and carrots. I added the lemon juice, salt, pepper and crunched up the kale/cabbage/carrots with my hands to soften them. I also added about 1/4 of a raw red onion thinly sliced. I mixed the mayo with 1 pack of Truvia for a bit of sweetness and 2 tbsp red wine vinegar and mixed it all together with a splash of olive oil. Yum! It's so tangy and crunchy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Excellent and healthy! I did not precook the red onion as I love raw red onion and I used 2 pieces of bacon. Kneading the kale as Meggerz suggests is a great tip - softens the kale so that it doesn't taste so raw and stiff. Thanks Meggerz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
As is only a 3, but with extra bacon, cranberries & DO NOT BOIL OR FRY ONIONS leave thinly sliced this would be 4 or more. I could not believe anyone would ever boil onions that go in a cold salad. Will be making again with 4 or more slices of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is the first time I've used raw kale in a dish and I loved it! Used three slices of bacon, threw in some sliced almonds and a little swiss cheese. Otherwise, followed as written. I did sprinkle a few croutons on top of hubby's salad. He loved it too! Sooo good! Thank you, meggerz802! Oh, I also cheated and threw my sliced red onion in a bowl with a small amount of water and microwaved it for a minute and the drained. So much easier than boiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Photo by Julie Tippery Moldenhauer
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Excellent!!! I added chard, some grape tomatoes and fried sandwich salami because I didn't have bacon and some fresh ground pepper. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My family all enjoyed this which is a big win. I love the fact that it uses in-season ingredients and basic kitchen staples.It was easy to prepare....what else do you need?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I cooked the onions in the bacon grease and patted them dry. Seems like a crime to waste good pig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I made this but there were a few changes. I didn't have bacon and I used broccoli slaw I had. I also added walnuts when I was ready to eat it and this is a keeper. I can see being able to add what I want to it, making it different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States