Kale Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I bought Kale for my morning smoothie since its said to be good fore you. After I tasted my green shake and realized I couldn't choke it down, I decided to find a different way to incorporate it into my diet. I'm glad I found this site, it was very good! I like my slaw more .. sloppy, so I doubled the juices and mayo. It was a great way to eat Kale and I'll actually buy it again one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This was an interesting dish - I had mixed reviews from the family. I guess I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I loosely followed this recipe using most of the same ingredients and it came out very good! I will definitely make it again because it's a good way to add more kale to my diet. I used chopped kale mixed with shredded cabbage and carrots. I added the lemon juice, salt, pepper and crunched up the kale/cabbage/carrots with my hands to soften them. I also added about 1/4 of a raw red onion thinly sliced. I mixed the mayo with 1 pack of Truvia for a bit of sweetness and 2 tbsp red wine vinegar and mixed it all together with a splash of olive oil. Yum! It's so tangy and crunchy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Excellent and healthy! I did not precook the red onion as I love raw red onion and I used 2 pieces of bacon. Kneading the kale as Meggerz suggests is a great tip - softens the kale so that it doesn't taste so raw and stiff. Thanks Meggerz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
As is only a 3, but with extra bacon, cranberries & DO NOT BOIL OR FRY ONIONS leave thinly sliced this would be 4 or more. I could not believe anyone would ever boil onions that go in a cold salad. Will be making again with 4 or more slices of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is the first time I've used raw kale in a dish and I loved it! Used three slices of bacon, threw in some sliced almonds and a little swiss cheese. Otherwise, followed as written. I did sprinkle a few croutons on top of hubby's salad. He loved it too! Sooo good! Thank you, meggerz802! Oh, I also cheated and threw my sliced red onion in a bowl with a small amount of water and microwaved it for a minute and the drained. So much easier than boiling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivor, Virginia, USA
Photo by Julie Tippery Moldenhauer
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Excellent!!! I added chard, some grape tomatoes and fried sandwich salami because I didn't have bacon and some fresh ground pepper. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My family all enjoyed this which is a big win. I love the fact that it uses in-season ingredients and basic kitchen staples.It was easy to prepare....what else do you need?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I cooked the onions in the bacon grease and patted them dry. Seems like a crime to waste good pig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I made this but there were a few changes. I didn't have bacon and I used broccoli slaw I had. I also added walnuts when I was ready to eat it and this is a keeper. I can see being able to add what I want to it, making it different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States