Kale Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Simple salad with simple ingredients. I was looking specifically for a salad using kale for nutritional and preferrential reasons and this one fit nicely. Bite size pieces are certainly necessary with this type of lettuce because kale has so much substance. Flavor seemed mile to me but the ruffle of the leaves and the firmness of it all certainly created a salad that made you recognize this was roughage. I think this would be just as tasty served like a spinach salad with strawberries and almonds or a chinese chicken salad and just substituting the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I liked the simplicity of the ingredients; the flavor of the kale is not hidden, but nicely balanced with the rest. I added some toasted sesame seeds instead of sunflower seeds. I also found it a touch too salty, so next time, I would reduce the amount. Drizzled in a bit more olive oil at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I liked this salad quite well and am looking for recipes to use my newly grown curly leafed kale. Only a couple of changes. I used all extra virgin olive oil and agave nectar instead of sugar. I think some herbs like dill or basil might make it nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Just a suggestion for those who have said they blanch the kale. If you want to keep the nutrients and keep it a 'raw' salad, you can, 'massage' the kale for 2-3 minutes (google; massaged kale salad). This squeezing technique breaks down the toughness and bitterness, making it much more soft and palatable. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Great way to eat Kale. Blanched kale then tossed it in dressing, sunflower seeds and cranberries and put it in the fridge all day (could even go overnight) then at the last minute added tomatoes and some chopped basil. Nice balance of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colby D. Lindeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
i give 5 stars to this recipe, because i pre-cooked the Kale to make it little soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonzalezlovetocook

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This is a tasty salad. Love the tangy sweetness of cranberries and the crunch of sunflower seeds! I blanched the kale for 30 seconds, put it in cold water to stop the cooking process, and then took off the stems and made it bite size. I used several grape tomatoes instead of one large one, because they have better flavor this time of year. I did not need the entire amount of dressing, only using about half. Thanks for the idea. I'm always on the lookout for another way to use kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I am thrilled that I tried this recipe and that I read every review. It is critical to massage the kale. To do this, remove the stems, put a little olive oil on your hands, and knead the kale like you would bread for about 5 minutes, or until it is a dark rich green. It's amazing how this changed the flavor. I tried the dressing, reducing the lemon as suggested to 1/4 of a cup, but this was still to tangy for my taste buds, so I ended up not using it at all. I made the dressing I make for spinach and strawberry salad, and it was great! My 14 year old loved it as well. I will definitely massage my kale in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I am hooked on this salad! But, I did make a few changes. I added Coconut Oil instead of Canola Oil. I did not use sugar at all. My tomatoes were not seeded. I used cherry tomatoes...one of my favs! I find tomatoes to be nutritional in every way. Therefore, I cannot imaging wasting the seeds. I also did not roast the sunflower seeds. Honestly, I forgot. Plus, I was making Enchiladas simultaneously. And, I did not add the cranberries. I did not have any on hand. All in all, my 3 year old did not want to taste it. But, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Best kale salad ever-however, lemon was a bit much; I'd cut it in half, but just added some extra butter lettuce I had on hand and that made it perfect this time. Next time I'll add 1/2 the sugar or agave; I blanched the kale for 10 minutes; also added some goat cheese. No need to refrigerate. Superb! *Next time I'll microwave kale for a minute with a few drops of water; so kale won't get too mushy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States