Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Great recipe, although I did modify it a bit. I used orzo instead of quinoa (which I didn't have on hand).The first time, I used sun-dried tomatoes and added some broccoli slaw and omitted cucumber. Hubby loved it! Second time around, I used cucumber as specified, but it didn't have as much flavor. I steamed the kale in the microwave as suggested, and it worked just fine. It holds up very well for a couple of days in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
The kale is still a bit bitter but still good considering the health benefits. The dressing is yummy. Didn't put onions because of hubby not liking them. Also added about 1 tsp of honey and used a sea salt mixed with dill and lemon. It was delish. I am sure the dressing would have been just as good without honey but I was in the mood for some sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Simple, healthy, and delicious! I didn't have red onion when I made this but otherwise did not make any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
So delicious! Very light and fresh. Great for a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Used red quinoa, vidalia onion and juice from a lime in place of lemon juice because that's what I had on hand, skipped cooking the kale and just relied on the residual heat from quinoa because I couldn't find my steamer, but added a tablespoon of chopped fresh cilantro and topped with a drizzle of sriracha sauce mixed with honey (1:1) for a five-star salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moosie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
The first time I made this I made it with curly kale and I didn't like the texture of the kale. This time I substituted a bunch of spinach for the kale and it was just right. I love the lemon dijon flavor and all the healthy ingredients. I just left out the feta and red pepper for my own personal preference. Unfortunately, the rest of my was not as much of a fan, but that leaves more for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Very good! I doubled the kale, peppers, cucumbers, and avocado when I made this and added more feta than called for because I love feta. Everyone who tried it loved it. I can see this working well with other non pasta type grains, such as couscous or maybe bulger or faro. A word of caution, the cucumbers can get a little soft as time goes on, so this doesn't preserve well for more than a couple days, but you could easily swap them out for another veggie. I can see adding left over grilled chicken or shrimp to this to make it a solid summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This was a big hit at the potluck! I steamed the kale and then immediately put it in ice water and spun it dry. Quinoa was easy to cook in the rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Hoffman Hemenway

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eatonville, Washington, USA
Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This is a great salad and very easy to make. After reading some of the reviews, I cut the salt in half and the dressing was good. I also added grilled chicken to make it a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Made this the way it was posted but doubled for a BBQ and it was a big hit! I maybe added more avocado & peppers just because! You can totally play with the quantity of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States