Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Allie
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This was probably the best salad I have ever eaten! Very healthy and filling. Ate a large bowl for dinner and was more than enough. Made a few alterations based on other reviews: doubled the avocado, added cherry tomatoes, steamed kale over chicken broth, added 1 clove pressed garlic to the dressing and increased dressing by half. Will definitely be making this again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe with exception of adding a bit of chicken bouillon to the quinoa cooking water. I also followed another's recommendation to steam the kale in the microwave. This was a perfect lunch and fits within a low fat diet. For those of you afraid of kale, it is a must in this recipe. The texture of the kale compliments the soft texture of the quinoa. I prepared the night before and kept the ingredients separate. Perfect for next day lunch at work without hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
First time trying quinoa. All I can say is this was fantastic!!! Made it exactly as posted, no changes. I will be making this on a regular basis from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I added radishes and sliced almonds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Rosita
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was so delicious, I was eating it out of the pot! Steaming the kale was a really good idea, as the bitterness was gone but still retained the nutrients. My avocados weren't ripe so I had to substitute a few things in. I used cremini mushrooms, tomatoes, and Julienned carrots - all finely chopped. I also added lime juice as well. The flavours were very aromatic and the citrus juice definitely enhanced it! I will definitely be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brit
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This is the most awesome salad!!!!! My entire family loves it!!! I make this at least once a week!!! The only changes I made is I do not put bell pepper in it and I add cherry tomatoes!!!! Yum!!!! This is so awesome!!! My favorite dish EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I didn't happen to have feta cheese so I just cut up some jarlsberg cheese and put it in. I used baby kale which I just microwaved for 45 seconds. Also, I put in just a tablespoon of dijon mustard instead of 1 1/2. The salad was delicious - my husband loved it and so did I. I would definitely recommend it and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
New to kale and quinoa, but I now am trying to find new recipes with them. This one has topped the other two quinoa recipes I've tried on here. Those are now 4-1/2 stars in comparison. :) I did serve with black beans on the side to garnish salad, as some of us don't like beans. It was great with or without them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Excellent! Easy to prepare. I mixed the dressing with the veggies, and layered kale, quinoa, then the veggies on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Love this one. Only a few modifications based on what I had: added some spinach with the kale, used horseradish mustard, and cooked quinoa in chicken broth. Have enough for lunch tomorrow, too. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States