Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was one of the best things I've ever made. Superfood salad is an understatement! I added only 1/2 tsp of salt to the dressing per the previous reviews and added some honey. Cooked the quinoa in chicken broth and steamed the kale 1 min over the pot of quinoa to save a step! Added red onion, red pepper, a whole avocado, and halved cherry tomatoes. No cucumber or feta. To make it a full meal for us omnivores, I grilled some chicken breasts (little salt, pepper, garlic powder, and cayenne). DELICIOUS! Lots of prep though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
So, I'm trying to eat kale and not make faces with a yuck expression. To that end, this was tasty and I will make it a staple weekly -- If I was more kale friendly, I'd probably give this a 5. I didn't realize that steaming kale ahead of time would make such a difference for the better. I added sweet grape tomatos from the garden as I didn't have red pepper. This recipe is also something you can make ahead and eat over two days because the kale won't wilt. Loving it and looking forward to taking to work :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I followed this exactly how it's written and wow is it SALTY. The kale and veggies mixed are delicious, the dressing is not. Even without added salt I don't think I will like this. I will try again with a different dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Did not steam the kale, just made it a day or two ahead and let the kale leaves soften. Also, waited to add the avocado until just before serving and kicked the feta amount up to about 1/2 c (we love cheese). Excellent salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
So good! I served it with Chili-lime chicken Kabobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmina Jovanovic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This was was very tasty, though next time I would do a little less dijon, which seemed to overwhelm the salad for my tastes. Also, I just put the kale on top of the quinoa when it was almost done cooking, to steam in the same pot. Very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great recipe for a hearty salad. My family loves quinoa so it's great to find new ways to use it. I did make some modifications solely because of the ingredients I had. For the veggies I used lacinato kale, grated carrots, green onion and halved grape tomatoes and used the entire avocado. I added a touch of honey to the dressing. I also cooked the quinoa in broth instead of water. Tasted delicious. I have leftovers I'll eat for my lunch today. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Very good. Great way to get more kale into your diet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe! I served it with roasted chicken and my guests really enjoyed it. I did add some almonds and dried cherries to make it more substantial for my vegetarian guest. Great light meal or as a side! Will be part of my repertoire .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States