Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by zkhaw
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Wonderful recipe.....it is a complete vegetarian meal. I did make a little change though. I didn't steam kale. Instead I chopped it in food processor, and added it to rest of the salad. Second time I made it I had run out of quinoa and it was delicious even without it, but again I added chopped kale to it. To make up for quinoa's nuttiness, I added chopped walnuts and i had a very impressive, good looking gourmet salad with lots of super foods in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Fixed this for dinner tonight.. Avocados at market were hard as a rock, so I decided to substitute with strawberries. Very nice. I microwaved the kale for 1 minute to soften it up just a little bit; perfect! The only other thing I did was add sunflower seeds to add a little crunch. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capcomp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
You can fudge the quantities a little, and leave out veg not to hand. A wonderful, tasty, healthy, simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Saylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I'm picky so this review is really only for me. Too much lemon but steaming the kale is the trick for reducing the kale bitterness. I should also remember I don't like the mustard particularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I'm always looking for new ways to use quinoa and this recipe was a good find. I did not have any kale on hand so I used baby spinach leaves and it was a great substitute. The only thing I did not care for was the dressing, so I added a little honey to it and it was a huge improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is a delicious salad to make in advance for work lunch. The mustard/oil dressing even keeps well. I steamed the kale for about 2 minutes and I think it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Made exactly as listed. I was skeptical, but it was a hit at my house. My husband had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
The dressing for me was too bitter. Needs more tang
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
You must develop a taste for this, but it is quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Even without meat, this is one fine main dish. Prefer fresh spinach to the kale because it cuts the chewing effort by at least 75%; both, however, are tasty. Update: Stripping out all kale stems of 1/8" and larger, then chopping into fairly small bits (1" max) before steaming make this a much easier chew. Have brought mustard up to 2 T & added 1 tsp garlic powder (plan to increase) in the vinaigrette. Have been topping w/ 2 - 3 T dry roasted sunflower seed for flavor & 1 T chia seed for added nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Zesty Quinoa Salad

See how to make an out-of-this-world quinoa salad with a tangy kick!

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States