Kale Puttanesca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I am a big puttanesca fan wanting to add kale to my vegetarian diet. This was just great and I'll make it again soon! The only changes I made were that I used a 14 oz tin of tomatoes rather than having some leftover, and I reduced the dry chills ton1/2 tsp...however, I may up that amount because the recipe was not hot for the amount of pasta. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
accidentally used the whole box of pasta, still came out great. It makes me wonder if I would find it too salty with half a box?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I thought this was easy to make, relatively healthy and very tasty! I didn't think there was enough fluid in the sauce so I added double the diced tomatoes (or you could use tomato sauce). I used green olives instead of capers, anchovies and black olives (just because that's what I had on hand and the others aren't to my liking). I also doubled the kale to get the extra benefit of this great vegetable and did not find it too much at all. I put a tbls instead of tsp of chili pepper because I like things spicy. I'm going to customize this in my recipe box and try it over chicken and in omelets. It's a great tomato-based sauce that can be used in a lot of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
LOVE kale and always looking for new recipes. Took the advice of other cooks, used a whole onion, added more garlic and crushed red pepper(actually used the South African Pepper Blend from Trader Joes). Also added a few fresh tomatoes because I had them on hand. I was a bit disspointed after making the dish. Thought it would be more flavorful and spicy. Then I added 1/2c of red wine and and let simmer on the stove. Put the dish away in the fridge, served the next day the flavor had improved tremendously. For the leftovers I added some spicy sausage, probably not what the writers intended. Overall, I really liked this dish, with and without sausage. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Fry the anchovies with the onions, double the kale and onions, and cut the pasta to 6 oz. gives this a 5 star rating from my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Yummy. I didn't measure but essentially followed the recipe. At the ended it was missing something so I added a little basalmic vinegar and a couple of tablespoons of pasta water to help it coat. Delish. Wishing I had made more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this with 20 cherry tomatoes cut in half and a 8oz can of tomato sauce. Turned out great!!! I used green olives too, and less...because SOMEBODY in my family does not like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
As I was plugging away I decided it needed more tomatoes. I added the whole large can and a jar of homemade tomato sauce. It was very much needed because I used a whole head of kale. Kale needs to be very finely chopped in a recipe like this because it is tough and doesn't soften like spinach would. I only used half can of anchovies because I was afraid it would take over. I could have used the whole can, it was fine. This is a salty dish so if you're not a salt lover beware. My family enjoyed this meal. Thanks for sharing Misha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was a good recipe. I used sardines instead of anchovies (just did not have anchovies). In the future I will not use as much red pepper flakes (maybe 1/3 as much). I'd add more Kale and would add mushrooms and possibly a little tofu. Delicious and nutritious. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Merluzzo Cod Fish Pasta Puttanesca

See how to make healthy, flavorful cod fish puttanesca-style.

Pantry Puttanesca

Turn common pantry ingredients into a quick, delicious pasta dinner.

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States