Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made these and they were good, but it was touchy getting them to cook without burning them. I just watched an episode of Jacques Pepin and he did kale chips, but he put them on a wire rack and baked them at 250 degrees for 20 minutes. I tried that the next time i made these and they were FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
After washing and thoroughly drying kale, I tore into small pieces and placed on cookie sheet. I sprayed with Pam olive oil and sprinkled sea salt over kale, baked in 350 degree oven for 9 minutes, then turned off the oven and left the kale in the oven to continue to crisp. This way it does not brown but stays a beautiful green and tastes delicious. You can keep it in the oven with the door closed for about an hour and it will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
296 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These were to die for. I used sesame oil and red wine vinegar instead, and only cooked them for about 5 mins in the oven. The kale was from my backyard and was so delicious. I couldn't stop eating them and finished the entire bowl. I can't wait until the kale grows more so I can do it again. GREAT recipe, thanks for sharing! I had always heard about kale chips but had never tried them, or kale before. Amazing way to use it. Do be careful with the cooking time b/c they can cook soo quickly. 5 mins was enough for me, if I left them in for 35 minutes I would have had nothing left but ashes! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephmac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Fantastic! I used balsamic vinegar, because I thought I had sherry, but when I went to the cabinet-all out! Oh well. It came out so wonderful, anyways. The only thing bad about this recipe is that you have to be careful not to choke, because you will want to INHALE them! yum, I think I'm going to make another batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
These are surprisingly delicious and a healthier alternative to regular chips. I used red wine vinegar and pink sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Not bad at all! I was cautiously optimistic about this recipe...it was only in the oven for about 20 minutes - and it came out nice and crispy. Next time I will probably tear the kale into larger pieces and check more frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I don't like kale in general, but from now on, if I have to eat some, that's how I'm going to eat it. Check your chips before 35 min in the oven... I had 2 trays in the oven and my chips were ready in 20 min. Also, eat everything at once. The chips don't taste good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This recipe is simply perfect. You can simplify things by skipping the bags and just using your hands on the kale in a large bowl (as suggested). Any good vinegar will do. We used a Pinot vinegar and garlic sea salt. If you have trouble with timing, it means you need to buy a thermometer for your oven and start cooking at the proper temperature. 35 mins is EXACTLY right: any earlier and the texture and flavor will not be right, any longer and they will burn. In a single layer (which you want), a good sized bunch of Kale will take up two medium-large baking sheets. Finally, be SURE your kale is dry. If it isn't you will be steaming it rather than roasting it. If you don't have a salad spinner, do as I did and put the kale in a dish towel, grab all the corners, and swing it in a circular motion a la Pete Townshend. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I have an abundance of kale in my garden so I decided to try this. It fits all the criteria: fast, easy, healthy and strangly addictive! Even my 11 year old son ate some! As another reviewer said watch the time. Mine were a step away from being burnt. I'll cook them shorter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. You do have to be very careful that you don't over- or under-cook them. Also, make sure the kale is evenly spread out and is not clumped together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Kale vs. Potato Chips on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes compare chips (and more!) on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States