Kale Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Winner Winner!! Loved these and the kids scarfed them down and asked for more. I did half a bunch of kale to test them out and of course need more. The Kids were scraping the bowl for the tiny pieces that broke off. You do need to eat them fairly quickly. I also baked them for 10 minutes and then stirred and flipped them over and went another 8 minutes so that the other parts could crisp up. Very easy and tasty way to add a great veggie to the meal. We paired them with cooked carrots in a light brown suger glaze and the combination was great! Sweet and salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
They turned out GREAT. 12 minutes was just right. I read another recipe and it waid 10 minutes only. Plenty crunchy, not burned at all. I added pumpkin seeds (pepitas) and edamame (soybeans) to the mix and they roasted great. I put everything in a plastic bag, shook it and poured it all out onto a jelly roll pan with sides. Spread out in a single layer, not too much at a time. It helped to buy the already chopped and washed kale and the more tender variety is better also (Trader Joes). I used sissors to cut away the veins, faster that way. I used lemon juice, olive oil, sea salt, white wine vinegar. Go light on the salt. What a munchy winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
They get soggy fast, but if you cook them too long they turn to dust. Maybe I just haven't perfected the right amount of cook time yet...? Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heather5018
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I did this with beet greens and loved it! I followed the advice of other reviewers and did not cook for the entire time listed. I used red wine vinegar. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I have never had Kale before. This recipie was really good but called for a bit too much seasoned salt. I am going to try it again but I think I will use sea salt and not as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Fabulous! Thanks for showing me how easy this is! I made it with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and salt. My oven cooked it perfectly for about 20 minutes at 300 degrees. They definitely shrink, so don't break your pieces too small! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Used Red wine vinigar and it was awesome!! My first attempt and I am hooked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenSpaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I seriously LOVE kale chips and usually just toss them with some olive oil and salt before baking, but the vinegar added a really nice kick! Reminded me of salt & vinegar potato chips. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I love this! Instead of store-bought bagged kale, I bought whole bunches so I can control the sizes of the chips. Rice vinegar, any flavored vinegar, allows you to play with flavors. I also sprinkled the finished chips with toasted sesame seeds. Healthy and addictive! So nice to have a healthy addiction. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great recipe, will definatly make this one again. I noticed some negative feedback. Also noticed that most of these were made early on in the kale season. Kale is best after it has had frost on it. It tends to be bitter up until that point. Frost will make it much sweeter, and it can withstand temperatures down to -15 degrees celcius without damaging the plant. Most people do not realize this and give up on kale before giving it a fair chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Baked Kale Chips

See how to make this popular low-calorie crispy snack.

Kale vs. Potato Chips on the Better Show

Watch the crew at Allrecipes compare chips (and more!) on the Better Show.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States