Kale, Apple, Avocado, and Bacon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Per the other suggestions, I made this with honey instead of the maple syrup and let it sit in the dressing for a bit before serving. Huge hit at the party! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I know this is definitely healthy but I need something to soften the stiffness (lack of a better word) of the kale. Most kale salads that appeal to me are drizzled with a hot oil to wilt the kale slightly and then sprinkled with a light dusting of finely shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My husband and I were invited to another couples place for dinner and when I asked her what I could bring, she said salad. I didn't want to bring just a plain old garden salad so I went on the search for something a little fancier. Along came this recipe to my inbox like an food angel! This was actually my first time using kale so I was a a little nervous as I had heard talk about bitterness and such. I doubled the recipe and did pretty much exactly what it read. The salad was a huge hit with our friends as well as my husband! I enjoyed it as well but found that I may have used a bit too much of the apple cider vinegar as I found it a little overpowering but no one else seemed to feel that way. Will definetly make this again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi Lance

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binbrook, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I have made this salad about 10 times now for various people, and they all love it - even my picky teenagers! The only change I make is to use dijon mustard instead of yellow mustard because I think it tastes much better. Also, as someone else said here, only half the recommended dressing is needed. This salad has become a staple of our diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe! But I made a few changes. I used shrimp instead of bacon, white vinegar, and yellow mustard. I also omitted the apples. Besides that, it was quick and easy! The dressing was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by senneff7
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
SOOO good! I'm always looking for new ways to use kale, as I get lots of it from my produce coop. I could eat this every day! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This was yummy! I find raw kale to be a bit coarse, so I used finely shredded baby kale and tossed it with the dressing about an hour before adding the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Pretty good. Great toppings of almonds, bacon, and avo. Made exactly as written but next time I will replace the maple syrup with honey and use a balsamic vinegar. The maple was a bit overpowering for me. Also needs another softer green like spinach or baby romaine. Since I knew kale was going to be much firmer, I added the dressing early -- about 20 minutes before serving to make sure it added a lot of flavor. Definite potential here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Didn't use the exact dressing recipe because I already had one made that was similar. We're new to kale but finding it to be quite tasty and versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is a great simple salad! Omitted the avocado (didn't have one), but added about 1/4 shredded aged white cheddar. Tossed with half the dressing and that was plenty. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States