Kale and Spinach Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Excellent! Tastes just like my fav Indian restaurants! I used cottage cheese, a little yogurt I had left and almond milk instead of reg milk. Thanks so much-I've tried other saag recipes-this will be the one I always use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Fabulous and sooooo healthy. Also a very flexible recipe. I used small frozen packages of spinach and mustard greens, substituted almond milk for dairy milk (probably could have substituted tofu for the cottage chees), substituted 1 tablespoon tikka masala for the 1/2 teaspoon garam masala, used one giant sweet onion instead of two regular onions, and substituted olive oil for ghee. I don't really like cooked greens, but THIS was GOBBLED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Made this recipe just as written, and used lamb for the meat (seared the lamb cubes and then simmered in water for an hour until very soft, then chopped up and added in the last step). Delicious! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Adams Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This recipe tastes better with tomato puree in place of milk and cheese.I add cottege cheeze cubes in tomato gravy and palak paste. Chhaya[cstopre]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was very good. I used mustard greens instead of kale as I thought mustard was more traditional. I didn't have a full cup of of cottage cheese so I used some neufchatel cheese in place of the remaining cottage cheese. I also added some grated blend (cheddar and monty jack) at the end. The flavor improves with sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made a few changed because I am vegan. I used tofu in place of cheese and almond milk in the place of milk. I did need to add more salt. Im sure it would have been better with cottage cheese thats why im giving it 4 stars. I wasnt impressed with my changes but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
REVISIONS: I'm sure the original is amazing too, but a few substitutions made this the best Spinach Saag ever! No cottage cheese=used plain yogurt instead Added fried cubes of Indian Cottage Cheese/like tofu constancy : cut into 1 inch cubs fry in a pan of 1TBS olive oil til brown then put in Saag. Try it. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whereiroamishome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is a response to the review by MGPaneer on Jan25, 2011(I have not tried this recipe). Saag is NOT name of Mustard Greens in either Hindi or Punjabi. That honor belongs to Sarson. Saag is the name of a dish that is cooked in such a fashion with leafy greens. So if the primary leafy green is Mustard Greens(which is usually the case) then it is called Sarson da Saag (da=of, so this translated to Saag of Mustard Greens). This dish could be called Kale da Saag. As for the addition of milk/cream, this is a common practice in many Indian restaurants in both India and the US to give the Saag added richness. Home cooks tend to use a big chunk of butter/ghee instead of the milk to give it the richness. So the person is correct in calling this Saag although calling it Kale Saag may be more appropriate since just Saag is usually always with Sarson(Mustard Green). Also, Paneer is a type of Cottage Cheese so please go over your info before posting. Just because you Indian does not make you correct(I am Indian btw) Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I prefer paneer instead of cottage cheese but is otherwise a good recipe. Here is a little trick that I use if I dont want to make paneer or if you dont have a source to purchse it. It is not authentic by any means but tastes good none the less. when the dish is almost done I will add cubed up string mozerella cheese sticks (the kind children love so much). They do not melt well and stay firm but soft like paneer.Give it a try its quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
The contrary opinions on whether this can be called saag and the appropriateness of the ingredients arise from different sub-cultures within the Indian sub-continent. Among Punjabis( people whose ancestors and possibly they themselves are from the Punjab region), the term "saag" means a simple curry made from bitter mustard greens and milder greens such as spinach. No milk,cream etc is EVER added- that would be blasphemous. For non-Punjabis however, "saag" means any dish made of leafy green vegetables such as this one. It is common to add cream, milk, paneer etc to green leafy vegetables. So everyone who posted their ire is correct according to their perspective! For more trivia, linguistically "saag" is related to "shaak" which means vegetable. That is why a vegetarian is called "shakahari"- one that eats vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States