Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
***to the people who want to cook their kale before adding to the recipe, DON'T! Cooking reduces the nutrient content and DEFEATS the purpose behind a 'green smoothie' If you don't care for kale, try spinach or add more fruit (up to 60% fruit, 40% veggies) to offset the flavor of the greens. If you find it too thick, it's ok to add some water to make it your desired consistency. And if you are adding the flax, I find it best to use ground flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This sounded so awful I had to try it! I was very pleased to find it absolutely delicious. I will probably cut the amount in half next time (and just eat the remaining banana) as it was very rich. I also used nonfat dairy milk as I had no soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I needed to double the amount of milk because my smoothie was so thick! Also, if you are using a flavored rice/soy milk you don't need the maple syrup to sweeten it. Blend this for MUCH longer than you would a regular parsley or spinach green smoothie, as kale is very fibrous and you want to make sure to get this as smooth as possibly so you aren't crunching as you sip. Just my two cents! Thanks for the yummy recipe, Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe as written, except that I used cow's milk. It was just okay (three stars). Today I tried it again with a few more changes. In addition to using cow's milk (because that's what I like and what I have on hand), I added a big handful of frozen strawberries, four or five ice cubes, and extra milk. I liked it much better that way . . . both because it was cold and because the flavor was fruitier. It was almost milkshake-like. My little boy (almost 2 yrs old) loved it. With the modifications, this is a four-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I use very young kale from my garden and this is a delicious recipe. The younger the kale, the sweeter the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I love trying to sneak some greens in wherever I can on my whole family especially the kids. The kids thought it tasted like their was grass in the smoothie, but still ate it. I cooked the kale until bright green on the next try to tone down the bitterness and it definitely improved the taste. I will probably make this again but only with the kale cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Amazing! I make fruit smoothies for my family every morning but never thought about putting something like kale into them! Used frozen kale, which was really easy, because I just threw a few cubes in the blender along with some fruit, flax seeds, silken tofu and orange juice. My husband freaked out a little bit when he saw it and said I'd finally gone over the edge, but he admitted later that it tasted fine! Thanks for helping me find a new way to squeeze more leafy greens into our diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
this was so good the only thing i changed was the soy milk, i used vanilla rice milk because thats what i had. this is very similar to the green smoothies my mom makes. she uses 1/4 soaked date per serving as a sweetener, i think i might try that next time to eliminate some calories. i didn't think my 3 yr old would like it because of the flax seeds but he drank it right down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
We get a ton of kale with our farmshare, and this is a quick way to use it -- I doubt I'd be buying kale to make smoothies with, but it's a good solution for the end of the week when I've still got kale in the fridge. I've been making it half-and-half skim milk and orange juice, and I found a frozen strawberry is a good sweetener. I didn't find a need to cook the kale -- the textures a touch strange, but it's a perfectly nice drink. Thanks for the suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Yah it sounds really strange! But the kale in the smoothie adds a little bit of freshness to the smothie. I switched it up and used vanilla yogurt with a splash of skim milk instead of the soy milk, then I didn't add the syrup. I also added some ice because I found it was too warm for a smoothie, it probably was the banana being at room tempurature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States