Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was the worst smoothie/green drink I have ever tasted, BY FAR. If I could have not given any stars, I would have. I read multiple positive reviews and decided to try it. To be honest, the taste and texture were so bad that the only reason I continued to drink it was so as not to negatively affect my 3 and 5 year olds who were also drinking it. My grandma and mom have both been making green drinks my entire life, and I usually like them. Never have I felt I could hardly swallow. My kids, who both love green drinks, finished their small amounts, however, the older one did say it didn't taste as good as others. She always asks for more, but didn't today. I'm not one to take time to rate, this is the first time I've done it. But with this recipe, I had to. If you want a GOOD green drink, try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I used regular milk, instead of soy (due to the negative effects of soy's estrogen-like effect on your body) and flax powder. Maybe that's why it tasted sooo terrible. My poor family barely got it down :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Sunset Beach, California, USA
Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I was surprised that we didn't taste the kale! I used unsweetened almond milk and honey instead of molasses. I also didn't use the flax seed-one step at a time trying these:) Kale and banana is a very good mix! Next I'll try kale and blueberries. I gave 4 stars because I changed the recipe but guessing I wouldn't care for the soymilk as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
this is a great basic recipe. I use kale in all of my smoothies now... you can barely taste it and it fills you right up! this is a lot of banana for me the morning, so I modified a little: 1/2 frozen banana (I wait until slightly brown, then freeze them in chunks), 1 cup (about 5 leaves) kale without the stems, 1/4 - 1/3 cup vanilla soy milk, 1 heaping teaspoon of nonfat plain yogurt, a tiny bit of flax seed oil, and then 4-7 pieces of frozen fruit. My favorite is 4 pieces of pineapple and 2 pieces of mango :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I used RAW Kale. Perfect! I didn't have soy or rice milk, so I used Vanilla Yogurt and "liquified" it with a little orange juice. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
See Notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is amazing. I was skeptical but thought I'd give it a try since it was so simple and I needed to use up some kale. I make this all the time now, using a sugar free maple syrup. It freezes well, so it's easy to make the night before and put in the microwave briefly in the morning to thaw. Easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was ok after adding more milk, another banana, and some splenda to sweeten it up. But the kids still didn't drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I wanted to get my 16 month old to eat more greens - this did the trick :) My skeptical husband loved it too! I used honey in place of the syrup and vanilla soy milk vs. unsweetened. Omitted the flax seeds simply b/c I didn't have any. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I really loved this because it is so healthy and chock full of vitamins and nutrients> mine was not sweet because I used an unripe banana but i am sure if i use a ripe banana it would be sweeter> the only thing i changed was using honey instead of maple syrup. nom nom nom!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States