Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Made it with 2 cups chopped kale (pre-chopped courtesy of Trader Joe's), 1 banana, and half a cup of Almond Milk - Vanilla (again thanks to TJs). SO DELISH! I put the kale in the freezer overnight, and banana in the fridge. tossed all of them together and was really really impressed by how delicious this is. I think this will be my staple breakfast smoothie. Will add the flax seeds, but no need for maple syrup for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
excellent. i never realized kale would work so well in smoothie form! i've also made this with cow's milk and/or the addition of frozen berries (rather than maple syrup). very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by the flavour of this smoothie! I had rice milk and worked great. Needed a good amount of blending to make perfectly smooth. A word of warning to 1st time eaters of raw kale-as I was and learned this the hard way this morning. It can be pretty hard on the digestive system to the point of nausea. If your not sure I would recommend trying this later in the day rather than on an empty stomach and in smaller quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trigurl
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was okay, but a bit taken over by the kale flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was pretty good. I used spinach instead of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was the first kale smoothie I've ever made and it's so good! My 12 year old, 3 year old, and 16 month old were begging for more. The baby threw a fit when the blender was empty. I did 1 banana (very ripe and sweet), 2 cups chopped kale, 1 orange, 1/2 C whole milk, 1 tsp maple syrup, and added some crushed ice at the end of the blending. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe sounded so odd, I had to try it! Glad I did…it’s so tasty!...and I feel so proud of myself for getting in some veggies first thing in the morning. I tried the recipe as is, but my favorite is to use vanilla soy and skip the maple syrup. I also slice and freeze bananas ahead of time. Frozen bananas make the smoothie super creamy and cold. Sometimes I leave out the (ground) flax seed – it changes the color from fresh green to a sort of pond scum color which I don’t feel like facing some mornings. It also changes the texture, making it thicker. I agree with others…it’s a must to remove the stems from the kale; to blend well to get that smooth consistency, and to grind or use pre-ground flax seeds to get the benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This could be pretty descent or really bad, if it is not fully blended. I used all of the ingredients, except I had to subtitute the soy milk for unsweetened almond milk. I don't care for or have flax seeds, so I used 1 Tlsp. of quick oats. I poured it over the ice and it still tasted warm. So, I put 3 ice cubes into the blender and blended it with it. After about a minute, the smoothie will still have kale bits in it. As someone else said grass bits. If ice is added and it is left to blend for closer to 2 minutes or until it is a complete uniform color, with no green bits, it is pretty descent. If I closed my eyes, I would just think it was a really unsweet banana smoothie. I may make this again, just for the pure health of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
It was better than expected, I too used cow's milk (twice the amt recommended), ice and used grounded flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Delicious and healthy! The only substitution I made was adding some mixed frozen fruit in place of the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States