Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was pretty good. I used spinach instead of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was the first kale smoothie I've ever made and it's so good! My 12 year old, 3 year old, and 16 month old were begging for more. The baby threw a fit when the blender was empty. I did 1 banana (very ripe and sweet), 2 cups chopped kale, 1 orange, 1/2 C whole milk, 1 tsp maple syrup, and added some crushed ice at the end of the blending. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe sounded so odd, I had to try it! Glad I did…it’s so tasty!...and I feel so proud of myself for getting in some veggies first thing in the morning. I tried the recipe as is, but my favorite is to use vanilla soy and skip the maple syrup. I also slice and freeze bananas ahead of time. Frozen bananas make the smoothie super creamy and cold. Sometimes I leave out the (ground) flax seed – it changes the color from fresh green to a sort of pond scum color which I don’t feel like facing some mornings. It also changes the texture, making it thicker. I agree with others…it’s a must to remove the stems from the kale; to blend well to get that smooth consistency, and to grind or use pre-ground flax seeds to get the benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This could be pretty descent or really bad, if it is not fully blended. I used all of the ingredients, except I had to subtitute the soy milk for unsweetened almond milk. I don't care for or have flax seeds, so I used 1 Tlsp. of quick oats. I poured it over the ice and it still tasted warm. So, I put 3 ice cubes into the blender and blended it with it. After about a minute, the smoothie will still have kale bits in it. As someone else said grass bits. If ice is added and it is left to blend for closer to 2 minutes or until it is a complete uniform color, with no green bits, it is pretty descent. If I closed my eyes, I would just think it was a really unsweet banana smoothie. I may make this again, just for the pure health of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
It was better than expected, I too used cow's milk (twice the amt recommended), ice and used grounded flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Delicious and healthy! The only substitution I made was adding some mixed frozen fruit in place of the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
A terrific and easy way to consume this wonderfully healthful vegetable. I love this fantastic tasting smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
this was yummy, just what I was looking for. I gave it 4 stars cause I changed it up just a hair. I used fat free milk ( didn't have soy) added some strawberries and sweetened with stevia instead of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is great for breakfast, I use 1 banana, 2 cups chopped kale, a handful of red grapes, 1/2 cup water instead of soy, a dash of cayenne pepper, and a dash of stevia. It gives me more energy than coffee. I have heard that soy is not that good for you, which is why I use water instead. It turns out great this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Very good with minor tweaks to my taste. Doubled the soymilk, eliminated flax and maple syrup. Plenty sweet with just the soy, kale and banana. A few frozon strawberries are also good in the mix, but not necessary. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States