Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I was pleasantly surprised by the flavour of this smoothie! I had rice milk and worked great. Needed a good amount of blending to make perfectly smooth. A word of warning to 1st time eaters of raw kale-as I was and learned this the hard way this morning. It can be pretty hard on the digestive system to the point of nausea. If your not sure I would recommend trying this later in the day rather than on an empty stomach and in smaller quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trigurl
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was okay, but a bit taken over by the kale flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was pretty good. I used spinach instead of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This was the first kale smoothie I've ever made and it's so good! My 12 year old, 3 year old, and 16 month old were begging for more. The baby threw a fit when the blender was empty. I did 1 banana (very ripe and sweet), 2 cups chopped kale, 1 orange, 1/2 C whole milk, 1 tsp maple syrup, and added some crushed ice at the end of the blending. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This recipe sounded so odd, I had to try it! Glad I did…it’s so tasty!...and I feel so proud of myself for getting in some veggies first thing in the morning. I tried the recipe as is, but my favorite is to use vanilla soy and skip the maple syrup. I also slice and freeze bananas ahead of time. Frozen bananas make the smoothie super creamy and cold. Sometimes I leave out the (ground) flax seed – it changes the color from fresh green to a sort of pond scum color which I don’t feel like facing some mornings. It also changes the texture, making it thicker. I agree with others…it’s a must to remove the stems from the kale; to blend well to get that smooth consistency, and to grind or use pre-ground flax seeds to get the benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This could be pretty descent or really bad, if it is not fully blended. I used all of the ingredients, except I had to subtitute the soy milk for unsweetened almond milk. I don't care for or have flax seeds, so I used 1 Tlsp. of quick oats. I poured it over the ice and it still tasted warm. So, I put 3 ice cubes into the blender and blended it with it. After about a minute, the smoothie will still have kale bits in it. As someone else said grass bits. If ice is added and it is left to blend for closer to 2 minutes or until it is a complete uniform color, with no green bits, it is pretty descent. If I closed my eyes, I would just think it was a really unsweet banana smoothie. I may make this again, just for the pure health of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
It was better than expected, I too used cow's milk (twice the amt recommended), ice and used grounded flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Delicious and healthy! The only substitution I made was adding some mixed frozen fruit in place of the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
A terrific and easy way to consume this wonderfully healthful vegetable. I love this fantastic tasting smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
this was yummy, just what I was looking for. I gave it 4 stars cause I changed it up just a hair. I used fat free milk ( didn't have soy) added some strawberries and sweetened with stevia instead of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States