Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Surprisingly good! Didn't have soy milk so I used regular milk and ice... blended nicely! Delicious and nutritious - the best combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I just love this smoothie! My very picky nieces decided they loved it before they realized they were having kale. They guessed that kiwi gave it its colour, and I didn't tell them otherwise. They now know my secret ingredient, and they even enjoy helping me make the smoothie, adding different fruits each time: blueberries, strawberries, mango... Kale has got to be the only leafy vegetable they eat, thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I use very young kale from my garden and this is a delicious recipe. The younger the kale, the sweeter the drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I did not care for this recipe, even after adding honey to sweeten it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuni42

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
It does taste like grass as other reviewers noted, but it is surprisingly drinkable. Kale has a strong smell, so it is best to drink it with a straw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I love trying to sneak some greens in wherever I can on my whole family especially the kids. The kids thought it tasted like their was grass in the smoothie, but still ate it. I cooked the kale until bright green on the next try to tone down the bitterness and it definitely improved the taste. I will probably make this again but only with the kale cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Thank you. Thank you thank you thank you! Taking advice from previous posters, I added a little more soymilk and a teensy bit more maple syrup. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggienutzabba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Not for me - I really wanted to like it but it tasted like eating grass :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZELDA3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelleys Island, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I needed to double the amount of milk because my smoothie was so thick! Also, if you are using a flavored rice/soy milk you don't need the maple syrup to sweeten it. Blend this for MUCH longer than you would a regular parsley or spinach green smoothie, as kale is very fibrous and you want to make sure to get this as smooth as possibly so you aren't crunching as you sip. Just my two cents! Thanks for the yummy recipe, Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
My smoothie was a little too thick with just half a cup of soy milk. So after adding a more soy milk and adding just a bit more maple I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States