Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My kids love this, believe it or not! They think it's cool to get to add syrup to a smoothie. I think it's cool to get them a serving of green leafs first thing of the day. Thanks, Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was a fantastic way to sneak in your veggies. I made it just as written and everyone (including my kids and my husband) loved it. I've also made it using fat-free milk and agave nectar with fabulous results. Instead of pouring over ice we just add some frozen berries to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This smoothies didn't look very appetizing, but it tasted great! I used really ripe bananas, almond milk instead of soy, and agave instead of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Amazing! I make fruit smoothies for my family every morning but never thought about putting something like kale into them! Used frozen kale, which was really easy, because I just threw a few cubes in the blender along with some fruit, flax seeds, silken tofu and orange juice. My husband freaked out a little bit when he saw it and said I'd finally gone over the edge, but he admitted later that it tasted fine! Thanks for helping me find a new way to squeeze more leafy greens into our diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I know the recipe is probably wonderful, but the aftertaste of raw kale was very unpleasant to me. The smoothie sans kale would be very nice I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is awesome! I don't particularly like how green kale tastes, but I know that it's very good for you! This smoothie tasted wonderful with some mods like...I didn't put in the stems. Used homemade almond milk instead of soy and filled it to the 2 cup mark on my vitamix after the kale and banana were put in. Used 2 T. of agave syrup instead of maple. Added 5 ice cubes, also. This tasted great! It's so good I can't wait to drink it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
the recipe itself isn't great. actually, i couldn't bring myself to put in maple syrup so i'm not sure how much better that would have made it. i immediately had to add more almond milk (i don't use soy) and then threw in some yogurt to thicken it up. it tasted flat and too banana so i added 1/2 mango. still wasn't sweet enough so i added 1/2 c. blueberries and 1/2 pack sweetener (i use truvia). then it was tastey enough to enjoy. i didn't taste the kale at all, just like when making smoothie with spinach. it was fresh, organic kale. good to know i can use this green also but the recipe requires tweaking for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaffney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I really wanted to like this...but I couldn't get past the strong kale taste. I used nonfat milk and didn't have any flaxseed (not sure if the flavor would have been very different). Anyway, I feel healthy for drinking it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Surprisingly good! Didn't have soy milk so I used regular milk and ice... blended nicely! Delicious and nutritious - the best combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States