Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I have to admit, I thought the author of this recipe was insane when I read this. Kale, bananas and maple syrup? An odd combination it seemed. It intrigued me enough to want to try it though. I tried it for the first time 3 days ago and have had it once a day since. It is AMAZING not to mention healthy. It has a very smooth taste and is fantastic as a snack when you are not hungry enough to justify a meal. I would highly recommend this. And to the author, thank you so much for submitting this! I now drink this smoothie daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
What a great way to get a good portion of greens down the hatch. I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I really liked it, reminds me of adding wheat grass. My husband thought it was too 'grassy' but that's just not his cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMcGuire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
***to the people who want to cook their kale before adding to the recipe, DON'T! Cooking reduces the nutrient content and DEFEATS the purpose behind a 'green smoothie' If you don't care for kale, try spinach or add more fruit (up to 60% fruit, 40% veggies) to offset the flavor of the greens. If you find it too thick, it's ok to add some water to make it your desired consistency. And if you are adding the flax, I find it best to use ground flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Surprisingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My kids love this, believe it or not! They think it's cool to get to add syrup to a smoothie. I think it's cool to get them a serving of green leafs first thing of the day. Thanks, Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was a fantastic way to sneak in your veggies. I made it just as written and everyone (including my kids and my husband) loved it. I've also made it using fat-free milk and agave nectar with fabulous results. Instead of pouring over ice we just add some frozen berries to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This smoothies didn't look very appetizing, but it tasted great! I used really ripe bananas, almond milk instead of soy, and agave instead of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Amazing! I make fruit smoothies for my family every morning but never thought about putting something like kale into them! Used frozen kale, which was really easy, because I just threw a few cubes in the blender along with some fruit, flax seeds, silken tofu and orange juice. My husband freaked out a little bit when he saw it and said I'd finally gone over the edge, but he admitted later that it tasted fine! Thanks for helping me find a new way to squeeze more leafy greens into our diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I know the recipe is probably wonderful, but the aftertaste of raw kale was very unpleasant to me. The smoothie sans kale would be very nice I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States