Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This smoothie was gawdawful!! It tasted like a bunch of gelatinous blended up raw kale. you can't taste the banana and soy milk at all. The problem isn't that it's too bitter, the problem is that it tastes only like kale (not like a proper green smoothie). I think there *might* be a way to make it better if you cut the amount of kale in half, or add two to three times the amount of fruit and milk. But as it is, BLECH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Tastic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Next time I'll try it with some raspberries to help sweeten it, and I'll replace the maple syrup with honey. I doubled the maple syrup, replaced the soy milk with skim, and flax with chia. I can't imagine these substitutions ruined the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I used coconut water (no sugar added)and did not add the maple syrup. I think the coconut water made it sweet and it was the tastiest smoothie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie Lopez
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made using spinach instead of kale as that is what DH brought home. That being said this made a nice very light breakfast for us. I might try making it without the maple syrup next time as it was a bit sweet for my taste but DH thought the sweetness was just right. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I switched out the soy milk for unsweetened coconut and added chia along with the flax. Loved it - may be my new go to smoothie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyric Droh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Kept it simple and the whole family loved it! Used 1 cup vanilla soy milk and didn't have flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Good but not the best Green Smoothie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Interesting! I used regular milk and added 2 tablespoons of powdered peanut butter because I didn't have any flaxseed. I don't think I would have liked it without the PB. I blended the heck out of the kale and couldn't really taste it, but then afterwards I had a weird aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Really was expecting grass, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
A frozen banana would have been much better. As is, it wasn't at all cold as a smoothie should be. I added ice cubes to help with this but that of course diluted the flavor. It was still pretty good, but definitely would do a frozen banana next time and skip the ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States