Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I just don't like kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is my favorite smoothie. It's easy to make and tastes great. It is also very versatile. you can use whatever mild greens (spinach, escarole, chinese cabbage, etc.) you have or additional nutrition boosters like seeds or oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This is a good, and quick recipe. Not too sweet and not too bitter. I don't like to pour it over ice cubes, so I freeze the bananas the night before. I've been using unsweetened vanilla almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I just use a frozen banana, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loveyummy
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Better than expected. kale has a VERY strong taste. I would have added just a half cup less. Also I combined ice when blending a a dash of water to make it less thick. Next time I may also add honey as a sweet alternative. otherwise thanks for the recipe. drink up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Love this! I use almond milk because I like the flavor better. For a frostier smoothie, I freeze a peeled banana and big handful of kale in plastic zipper bags, then each morning pull one out of the freezer. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I used rice milk as a substitute for soy milk and agave syrup instead of maple syrup. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I just tried this recipe and added pineapple, left out the maple syrup, used sprouted flax powder instead of flax seeds, and used light coconut milk instead of soy milk (doubled the amount) and added some water. Perhaps I created a totally different recipe altogether, but anyway, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
you can't taste the banana and soy milk at all. The problem isn't that it's too bitter, the problem is that it tastes only like kale. I think there *might* be a way to make it better if you cut the amount of kale in half, or add two to three times the amount of fruit and milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Tastic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Next time I'll try it with some raspberries to help sweeten it, and I'll replace the maple syrup with honey. I doubled the maple syrup, replaced the soy milk with skim, and flax with chia. I can't imagine these substitutions ruined the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Sanderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States