Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
this is a great basic recipe. I use kale in all of my smoothies now... you can barely taste it and it fills you right up! this is a lot of banana for me the morning, so I modified a little: 1/2 frozen banana (I wait until slightly brown, then freeze them in chunks), 1 cup (about 5 leaves) kale without the stems, 1/4 - 1/3 cup vanilla soy milk, 1 heaping teaspoon of nonfat plain yogurt, a tiny bit of flax seed oil, and then 4-7 pieces of frozen fruit. My favorite is 4 pieces of pineapple and 2 pieces of mango :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I used RAW Kale. Perfect! I didn't have soy or rice milk, so I used Vanilla Yogurt and "liquified" it with a little orange juice. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
See Notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is amazing. I was skeptical but thought I'd give it a try since it was so simple and I needed to use up some kale. I make this all the time now, using a sugar free maple syrup. It freezes well, so it's easy to make the night before and put in the microwave briefly in the morning to thaw. Easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was ok after adding more milk, another banana, and some splenda to sweeten it up. But the kids still didn't drink it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I wanted to get my 16 month old to eat more greens - this did the trick :) My skeptical husband loved it too! I used honey in place of the syrup and vanilla soy milk vs. unsweetened. Omitted the flax seeds simply b/c I didn't have any. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I really loved this because it is so healthy and chock full of vitamins and nutrients> mine was not sweet because I used an unripe banana but i am sure if i use a ripe banana it would be sweeter> the only thing i changed was using honey instead of maple syrup. nom nom nom!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
YUM!! I used green kale (the super curly kind) and did not find it bitter at all. It could help to do half kale, half spinach if you find it too bitter. I don't have any flax seeds (keep meaning to get some of those!) and used honey instead of maple syrup. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Made mine with 1 c. vanilla soy milk and skipped the flax seed and maple syrup. Did not enjoy the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWORLEY
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Yah it sounds really strange! But the kale in the smoothie adds a little bit of freshness to the smothie. I switched it up and used vanilla yogurt with a splash of skim milk instead of the soy milk, then I didn't add the syrup. I also added some ice because I found it was too warm for a smoothie, it probably was the banana being at room tempurature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States