Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Love this Smoothie!!! Even the skeptics in my house agree that it's "not so bad". Not to mention that it's GREAT for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Just okay. Mixed reviews with the kids. I would add some frozen berries and OJ for extra sweetness and vitamin C to help absorb the iron from the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Wow! I was dubious after a failed spinach smoothie I once made, but am so glad I gave this a try! I used a frozen banana and whole milk and didn't have any flax seeds, and it was amazing! Almost had an apple sort of taste. My 14 month old daughter loved it so much, I had to make another one right away so there'd be enough for me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Just like almost every other reviewer, I am trying to fit more veggies into my diet and as I can't stand V8...I thought I would give this a try. So much better than I could have imagined, great smoothie & holy cow was it filling...I could barely finish all of it. I followed other reviewers advice by grinding the flaxseeds & freezing a ripe banana. I tried not to alter the ingredients much more so to give an honest review. Next time I may thin it a bit with a little water or orange juice before serving & definitely blend it longer to grind up the kale a bit more. Thanks Rice for posting this recipe, so long V8 (yuck)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was the worst smoothie/green drink I have ever tasted, BY FAR. If I could have not given any stars, I would have. I read multiple positive reviews and decided to try it. To be honest, the taste and texture were so bad that the only reason I continued to drink it was so as not to negatively affect my 3 and 5 year olds who were also drinking it. My grandma and mom have both been making green drinks my entire life, and I usually like them. Never have I felt I could hardly swallow. My kids, who both love green drinks, finished their small amounts, however, the older one did say it didn't taste as good as others. She always asks for more, but didn't today. I'm not one to take time to rate, this is the first time I've done it. But with this recipe, I had to. If you want a GOOD green drink, try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I used regular milk, instead of soy (due to the negative effects of soy's estrogen-like effect on your body) and flax powder. Maybe that's why it tasted sooo terrible. My poor family barely got it down :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Sunset Beach, California, USA
Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I was surprised that we didn't taste the kale! I used unsweetened almond milk and honey instead of molasses. I also didn't use the flax seed-one step at a time trying these:) Kale and banana is a very good mix! Next I'll try kale and blueberries. I gave 4 stars because I changed the recipe but guessing I wouldn't care for the soymilk as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
this is a great basic recipe. I use kale in all of my smoothies now... you can barely taste it and it fills you right up! this is a lot of banana for me the morning, so I modified a little: 1/2 frozen banana (I wait until slightly brown, then freeze them in chunks), 1 cup (about 5 leaves) kale without the stems, 1/4 - 1/3 cup vanilla soy milk, 1 heaping teaspoon of nonfat plain yogurt, a tiny bit of flax seed oil, and then 4-7 pieces of frozen fruit. My favorite is 4 pieces of pineapple and 2 pieces of mango :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I used RAW Kale. Perfect! I didn't have soy or rice milk, so I used Vanilla Yogurt and "liquified" it with a little orange juice. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
See Notes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States