Kale and Banana Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
sans flax, and i did organic blackstrap molasses as the sweet part (along with the banana). still very palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I was looking for a natural, light, and not overly sweet tasting smoothie and this was perfect! All I used was 1 banana, 2 c. chopped kale, 1 c. light vanilla soy milk, and some ice to chill it (though I tried a little before adding the ice and it still tasted great!). Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
WOW! I have to admit I was surprised by how delicious this is. I was even more surprised that my children AND husband love it as much as I do. My 4 year old hates kale, cries when she see's it on the dinner table and will drink this and ask for another serving. I always use 2 banana's, 1 cup of milk and a Tablespoon of sweetner but some of my other tweaking varies. Honey/agave nectar either one is fine, cow's milk or rice milk both taste fine and I prefer to use frozen banana's but unfrozen is tasty to. I strongly suggest giving this a good whirl in the blender to makethe kale and flax seed smooth. Thanks for sharing the recipe Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Love this Smoothie!!! Even the skeptics in my house agree that it's "not so bad". Not to mention that it's GREAT for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Just okay. Mixed reviews with the kids. I would add some frozen berries and OJ for extra sweetness and vitamin C to help absorb the iron from the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Wow! I was dubious after a failed spinach smoothie I once made, but am so glad I gave this a try! I used a frozen banana and whole milk and didn't have any flax seeds, and it was amazing! Almost had an apple sort of taste. My 14 month old daughter loved it so much, I had to make another one right away so there'd be enough for me! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Just like almost every other reviewer, I am trying to fit more veggies into my diet and as I can't stand V8...I thought I would give this a try. So much better than I could have imagined, great smoothie & holy cow was it filling...I could barely finish all of it. I followed other reviewers advice by grinding the flaxseeds & freezing a ripe banana. I tried not to alter the ingredients much more so to give an honest review. Next time I may thin it a bit with a little water or orange juice before serving & definitely blend it longer to grind up the kale a bit more. Thanks Rice for posting this recipe, so long V8 (yuck)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was the worst smoothie/green drink I have ever tasted, BY FAR. If I could have not given any stars, I would have. I read multiple positive reviews and decided to try it. To be honest, the taste and texture were so bad that the only reason I continued to drink it was so as not to negatively affect my 3 and 5 year olds who were also drinking it. My grandma and mom have both been making green drinks my entire life, and I usually like them. Never have I felt I could hardly swallow. My kids, who both love green drinks, finished their small amounts, however, the older one did say it didn't taste as good as others. She always asks for more, but didn't today. I'm not one to take time to rate, this is the first time I've done it. But with this recipe, I had to. If you want a GOOD green drink, try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I used regular milk, instead of soy (due to the negative effects of soy's estrogen-like effect on your body) and flax powder. Maybe that's why it tasted sooo terrible. My poor family barely got it down :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Sunset Beach, California, USA
Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I was surprised that we didn't taste the kale! I used unsweetened almond milk and honey instead of molasses. I also didn't use the flax seed-one step at a time trying these:) Kale and banana is a very good mix! Next I'll try kale and blueberries. I gave 4 stars because I changed the recipe but guessing I wouldn't care for the soymilk as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States