Kale and Adzuki Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
I like this dish very much! It's very tasty! and nutritious, too! One comment for cooking Adzuki —it's taste better if you first heat the adzuki in water till the water boils and immediately drain it, then add fresh water and slowly cook until adzuki is tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I was super excited to try this recipe. I changed it up a little based on what i like/had on hand. I added ginger along with the garlic and sauted some shiitake mushrooms before i added the kale. in addition to the other flavorings i added a little sesame oil and shichimi togarashi (a japanese red pepper blend). Like anzu, i also rinsed the beans after boiling and added fresh water. I took some leftovers to lunch the next say and just sliced up some tofu and green onions and drizzled a little soy sauce and sesame oil on the tofu. it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eriko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This makes a delicious and very nutritious meal. I soak my adzuki beans overnight which helps them to soften. Reduced sodium tamari is the way to go if you don't want it to be too salty. Once I had a head of escarole and used that instead of kale. That was good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I had it with wild rice and it was very satisfying.The spices added some nice flavor to the recipe,however, I found it too salty, even though I didn't add additional salt to the recipe. Maybe if the amount of tamari sauce was reduced, it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Great potential with a few changes that were mentioned in the reviews. Beans need to soak and less Tamari, or perhaps a low sodium Tamari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Delicious - I had never tried adzuki beans, but now I am hooked on them! I only put in 1/2 the tamari (per other reviewer's suggestions), and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Quite tasty and a simple recipe to boot! Do not skimp on the kale, though. I feel like there's a little something missing, but overall good! I like it at room temperature for a nice lunch. Add a little bit of extra garlic, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This is a wonderful combination. I did use 2 TBS of soy sauce instead of the tamari to control the sodium content. It was filling and tasty. I served this with steamed Bamboo Rice and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used a combo of peanut oil and olive oil..added the shiitake's and ginger with the garlic (used 3x garlic recipe called for) and doubled the recipe..also threw in some crushed red pepper flakes toward the end. This was my first time using adzuki beans and the whole dish turned out wonderfully. Thanks for all the extra tips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This is a good recipe, but my adzuki beans weren't soft enough after the cooking time that was specified. I just added rice in at the end and cooked it in with the rest, came out nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States