Kale and Adzuki Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this recipe a lot last summer with Swiss Chard we had from the garden. Very tasty, healthy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
THis is a great recipe! I didn't realize I ran out of tamari, so I used Bragg's Amino Acids, and it was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Great recipe! This is the 4th time I'm making it in a span of 2 months! It's easy and delicious. I used frozen spinach instead. Still yummy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyintheKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Simple and tasty. Next time I will use more than the 6 cups of kale called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This is a favorite standby. Even the kids like it despite the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used a combo of peanut oil and olive oil..added the shiitake's and ginger with the garlic (used 3x garlic recipe called for) and doubled the recipe..also threw in some crushed red pepper flakes toward the end. This was my first time using adzuki beans and the whole dish turned out wonderfully. Thanks for all the extra tips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Yes, this was very salty as other reviewers stated and I used half the tamari it called for. Another reviewer mentioned having trouble with the beans. I didn't have any issues but I used "fresh" dried beans and with my limited experience, the beans cook up to a firmer texture than canned beans. I served this with rice and a chicken recipe from this site, Pea Shoots and Chicken in garlic Sauce (minus the pea shoots) - Incredible! The flavors melded perfectly and the other portions of the meal made up for the salt in this dish. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This is an excellent and healthy dish. I loved it and it's really easy. I modified the recipe slightly: *Bragg's Liquid Amino's instead of tamari *added red onions and sauteed with garlic *used spinach for half of the greens - I had it and it needed to be cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I picked these beans up today beacause the recipe (same as the one here) was quick and I already had kale in my basket. Well, after an hour the beans still aren't tender like normal beans but I decided to to continue following along with the recipe. What the heck is Tamari??? I thought it was Tumeric until I looked it up and realized that it's basically the same thing as soy sauce... Duh!!! I added Tumeric but only about a quater of a teaspoon since that stuff is potent. I also added all the liquid to the kale to assist the beans in tenderizing. All the seasonings are now cooking with everything as well. I keep tasting and it's good but not something I think my kids will go for but who know? Sometimes they suprise me! Good luck with this. I know it's healthy and it's relatively inexpensive to make (maybe $5.00 altogether!) but not sure it's really worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was really good!I wasn't a fan of kale but this changed my mind! It took a lot more water than suggested for the beans. I also added the spices to the oil so they got hot before adding garlic and other ingredients- suppose to make the flavor come out better. Delish, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States