Kalbi (Marinated Beef Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RandySweet
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I can see why your friends all request it - repeatedly. Since I found this recipe about 3 months ago I have made these ribs 5 times. This is such the perfect recipe. Every sense - and those of the neighbors - are heightened when this is cooking. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used the marinade for some Korean style spare ribs and then put on the BBQ. My guests really liked the flavor and took the recipe with them. There is nothing I would change in this recipe. BUT, if you were so inclined, you could add hot spices to this to kick it up a notch or two! I'm not into heat but some of you I'm sure are! Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
OMG! THE INGREDIENT COMBINATION WAS SUPERB. IT SOUNDED SO GOOD I COULD NOT WAIT TO MARINATE I JUST BAKED. DELICIOUS THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Strathmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This recipe works for me. To get the best taste, I marinate the ribs for 5 days. The weather is not too nice to grill right now, so I cook it in my Flavor Wave. It turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was the first time I have ever made ribs at home (besides cooking in a dining facility) and I decided to prepare them using this recipe and they came out superb. Although the recipe says to grill ribs, I let mine bake in the oven for 1 1/2 hours instead. I felt like I was eating at a chinese restaurant after trying these. At first I thought about adding honey to sauce, because I was concerned about soy sauce giving ribs a salty flavor, but decided to prepare as is and was surprise at how well the flavors blended together. I am looking forward to preparing this again in the near future. Thank very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great recipe. Simple but yet so yummy. The meat does not require so much time to marinate. I marinated my ribs 2 hours and it was more then enough time. So much flavor. I already tried this marinate on chicken wings and they came out delicious. This will definitely be a recipe that I will use time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Used the marinade for a flank steak. Fantastic! Such good flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I've used this recipe a handful of times. Each time I made it, everyone raved about the ribs, even scooping up the last drop of juice and and pouring it over their rice. Since I do not have a grill, I cooked the ribs in the oven. I used aluminum foil to seal the ribs like a tent and gave it more of a steam effect so that they came out very tender; the meat was falling off of the bones. I cooked it in 400 degrees for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used this sauce and boneless short ribs in the crock pot. Served over rice. Fantastic! one of our new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Home Town: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I tried this recipe and the only thing I did differently was cook them covered in a 400degree oven for 1 hr because it was raining outside. I couldn't wait for the veggies and mac and cheese to finish cooking because when I taste-checked the ribs for doneness, they were so darn good that I snatched one out of the pan and ate it up! I refer to them as "award winning". I'll bet they are totally awesome on an outdoor grill.-CharleneB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blarlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States