Kalbi (Marinated Beef Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great recipe. Simple but yet so yummy. The meat does not require so much time to marinate. I marinated my ribs 2 hours and it was more then enough time. So much flavor. I already tried this marinate on chicken wings and they came out delicious. This will definitely be a recipe that I will use time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Used the marinade for a flank steak. Fantastic! Such good flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was the first time I have ever made ribs at home (besides cooking in a dining facility) and I decided to prepare them using this recipe and they came out superb. Although the recipe says to grill ribs, I let mine bake in the oven for 1 1/2 hours instead. I felt like I was eating at a chinese restaurant after trying these. At first I thought about adding honey to sauce, because I was concerned about soy sauce giving ribs a salty flavor, but decided to prepare as is and was surprise at how well the flavors blended together. I am looking forward to preparing this again in the near future. Thank very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I tried this recipe and the only thing I did differently was cook them covered in a 400degree oven for 1 hr because it was raining outside. I couldn't wait for the veggies and mac and cheese to finish cooking because when I taste-checked the ribs for doneness, they were so darn good that I snatched one out of the pan and ate it up! I refer to them as "award winning". I'll bet they are totally awesome on an outdoor grill.-CharleneB
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blarlene

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I've used this recipe a handful of times. Each time I made it, everyone raved about the ribs, even scooping up the last drop of juice and and pouring it over their rice. Since I do not have a grill, I cooked the ribs in the oven. I used aluminum foil to seal the ribs like a tent and gave it more of a steam effect so that they came out very tender; the meat was falling off of the bones. I cooked it in 400 degrees for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RandySweet
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I can see why your friends all request it - repeatedly. Since I found this recipe about 3 months ago I have made these ribs 5 times. This is such the perfect recipe. Every sense - and those of the neighbors - are heightened when this is cooking. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
OMG! THE INGREDIENT COMBINATION WAS SUPERB. IT SOUNDED SO GOOD I COULD NOT WAIT TO MARINATE I JUST BAKED. DELICIOUS THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Strathmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used the marinade for some Korean style spare ribs and then put on the BBQ. My guests really liked the flavor and took the recipe with them. There is nothing I would change in this recipe. BUT, if you were so inclined, you could add hot spices to this to kick it up a notch or two! I'm not into heat but some of you I'm sure are! Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used this sauce and boneless short ribs in the crock pot. Served over rice. Fantastic! one of our new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Home Town: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This recipe works for me. To get the best taste, I marinate the ribs for 5 days. The weather is not too nice to grill right now, so I cook it in my Flavor Wave. It turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States