Kalbi (Marinated Beef Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This did not work for us at all. The flavor was very good (hence the 3 stars) on the tiny portion that was edible, but the ribs didn't grill right at all. I think it would have been much better to try this marinade with slow cooking the ribs instead of grilling them. They were almost impossible to eat and mostly went to waste, it was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
OMG! THE INGREDIENT COMBINATION WAS SUPERB. IT SOUNDED SO GOOD I COULD NOT WAIT TO MARINATE I JUST BAKED. DELICIOUS THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Strathmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I've used this recipe a handful of times. Each time I made it, everyone raved about the ribs, even scooping up the last drop of juice and and pouring it over their rice. Since I do not have a grill, I cooked the ribs in the oven. I used aluminum foil to seal the ribs like a tent and gave it more of a steam effect so that they came out very tender; the meat was falling off of the bones. I cooked it in 400 degrees for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used the marinade for some Korean style spare ribs and then put on the BBQ. My guests really liked the flavor and took the recipe with them. There is nothing I would change in this recipe. BUT, if you were so inclined, you could add hot spices to this to kick it up a notch or two! I'm not into heat but some of you I'm sure are! Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Photo by RandySweet
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I can see why your friends all request it - repeatedly. Since I found this recipe about 3 months ago I have made these ribs 5 times. This is such the perfect recipe. Every sense - and those of the neighbors - are heightened when this is cooking. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This recipe was amazingly good. I did use the boneless ribs and I did do it in my crock pot is the only thing different. they came out so tender...even my picky hubby loved them =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used this sauce and boneless short ribs in the crock pot. Served over rice. Fantastic! one of our new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Home Town: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I give this only 4 stars because I did not make the recipe as directed. I used boneless short ribs. I ran out of soy so I had to use some teriyaki and also used a gourmet bloody mary mix when I ran out of teriyaki. I didn't have any sesame seeds so I omitted them as well. Instead of grilling, I broiled the ribs for 7 minutes per side and then sliced them into medallions. They were so tender and flavorful and were a huge success at my party. This marinade recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This recipe works for me. To get the best taste, I marinate the ribs for 5 days. The weather is not too nice to grill right now, so I cook it in my Flavor Wave. It turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Used the marinade for a flank steak. Fantastic! Such good flavor. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States